Book Review: The Gift of the Magi, by O. Henry

I remember reading this short story when I was in school. It was quite recently, as I was browsing through the free Kindle eBooks on Amazon, that I saw this title again and thought to read it.

Very few would not know this story, I feel. This is the story of Della and James, a couple, who each have a prized possession. They aren’t very well off but for those two possessions. The story takes place on Christmas Eve when each wants to gift the other something valuable, but find they don’t have the means to, so they sell their possessions. The decision to do so doesn’t go expectedly, but they still find a gift.

The story is one of my favorites. It portrays a very pure love. For them to let go of their favorite possessions to get the other a valuable gift showed that love very well. Even when they found it didn’t work out as planned, they realize that they haven’t lost much at all. They realize that what they lost can be found again, and in the meanwhile, they have a very wonderful gift… the love they have for each other.

I’m happy that this book is free on Kindle, and now I can read it again whenever I want to.


Rated a perfect 10/10
Rated a perfect 10/10

Book details:
Title: The Gift of the Magi
Compiled by: O. Henry
ISBN: B0082Z3S3G
Genre: Short story
Publishers: Kindle eBook
Price: Free

 


This book is a personal copy. No payment was taken for this review.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


(Jan 24th, 2013)

