Book Review: Midnight’s Children, by Salman Rushdie

midnights_children_rushdie

About the author:
Sir Ahmed Salman Rushdie is a novelist and essayist. Much of his early fiction is set at least partly on the Indian subcontinent. His style is often classified as magical realism, while a dominant theme of his work is the story of the many connections, disruptions and migrations between the Eastern and Western world.

My thoughts on the book:
I’m just venturing into historical, and I think Midnight’s Children is my first complete novel in that genre. I think after reading, I realize that English has a lot of power when written well, and yes, Rushdie does write well. The story of Saleem Sinai, born at the exact moment of India’s independence and bestowed with a power that each of the other 1000 children born at the same time have too. Saleem the protagonist has the powers of telepathy, and an extremely sensitive smell.

What I liked:
The book isn’t just about the protagonist but about the country as well. It’s about the story of three generations, and the about the dreams of a boy. Perhaps the timing of the birth is also a significance of hope for the nation as well. The story is an interesting concept for sure, and I do applaud the detailing and especially the opening paragraph where Saleem introduces himself.

What I didn’t like:
The story is slow at the start and it takes some time before you get to the essence. Whether it is like that in all of Rushdie’s books is something I don’t know as yet, this being my first book of his. But that early pace kind of threw me off

Closing thoughts:
I will one day read this again, and perhaps in that second read, I shall find it more appealing, but this time, I didn’t like it as much as I thought I might. It’s not a bad read, but little slow paced.


Rated a 6/10
Rated a 6/10

Book details:
Title: Midnight’s Children
Author: Salman Rushdie
ISBN: 978-0-099-58207-6
Genre: Fiction
Publishers: Vintage Books
Price: Rs. 450

 


This book was given to me for review by Random House India. This is not a paid review.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with the First Reads challenge at b00k r3vi3ws and Indian Quills at Tales Pensieve.


(March 24th, 2013)

