Book Review: Two Brothers, by Ben Elton

two_brothers_ben_elton

About the author:
Ben Elton is an English author. His career as both performer and writer encompasses some of the most memorable and incisive comedy of the past twenty years.

Thoughts from cover and blurb:
Good match between the two, and for a novel that is spoken about as his most personal novel to date, the cover speaks volumes, and I feel that is good!

My thoughts on the book:
Let me not digress here! Historical fiction and I don’t usually go hand in hand. I think when I took on this book, which I’ve been told is small by historical fiction length in general, I didn’t know what I was trying! The plot sounded very different, and the cover, which I checked out before deciding to read it, was very appealing.

I’ve taken a lot of time to read this book, and still not quite sure if it has sunk in. I’d need another read to see if it has. Long fiction novels have that effect on me. The story of two Jewish brothers at the time of the Nazi Armageddon… yeah, that kind of speaks for itself, and the narration is captivating. It carries the reader through the novel. It’s not something unexplored in previous novels by other authors, but maybe it is this quality of narration that sets this novel apart.

A flood of emotions and it does beautiful justice to the backdrop of the novel as well, in both time and place. It has been a good read, and one that is hard to criticize or write a big fat review for. If only the book wasn’t as long as it was, but that’d not help, because it wouldn’t be as good as it was then.

Oh well, que sera sera!


A rating of 8/10
A rating of 8/10

Book details:
Title: Two Brothers
Author: Ben Elton
Genre: Historical Fiction
ISBN: 978-0-593-06206-7
Publishers: Bantam Press
Price: INR. 650

 


This book was given to me for review by Random House India. This is not a paid review.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with First Reads at b00k r3vi3ws.


(July 24th, 2013)

Leave a Reply

