Book Review: Because I am a Girl – Seven Girls Seven Lives, by Plan India

because_i_am_a_girl

My thoughts on the book:
Growing up in India, there are quite a few things about the country you hear, and later on, through newspapers and articles, know that it is probably true. It would be saddening, yes, but true. Perhaps the state of the nation isn’t as bad now as it was before, or maybe it is, I do not know. That’s not the point I’m trying to make anyways. One of the more spoken about points in newspapers and forums, or sometimes even between my friends and me, is the life of the girl child in India. There was a time when I heard of female foeticide so much that it made me sick. The preference to a boy to be the next-in-line, or not giving enough attention to the daughter’s needs… that was something that was up for debate each time.

I have been recommended this book by multiple friends. I’m thankful for that, for this is a non-fiction that inspires in a way that others cannot. This are seven life stories, of seven girls in different parts of the country, who have broken these beliefs and survived obstacles life has thrown in front of them. They have chased down dreams, and found happiness when at one time in their lives; those might have been a choice they couldn’t have made. Each story strikes a chord with the reader, and you can’t help but admire their tenacity and will to learn from life, something that cannot be learnt from books.

I have two reasons why I chose this book to read and review, even though non-fiction may not admittedly be my favorite genre to read. One is that the book was about girls in India, and their story narrated by other girls. The more appealing reason, in tandem with the first, was the cover. Innocence and happiness was reflected in the essence of childhood, and the rains make one nostalgic for those days. The book felt right to read, and it was. I think reading reality, if not experiencing it, can make at least some difference to our life. Read this book for stories of hope and strength, dreams and reality, love and life. Read it like life, and not a story. Then you might, just might, feel the effect.


Rated a 9/10
Rated a 9/10

Book Details:
Title: Seven Girls Seven Lives
Author: Multiple Authors
Compiled by: Plan India
ISBN: 978-8-184-00156-3
Genre: Non-Fiction
Publishers: Random House India
Price: INR. 299

 


This book was given to me for review by Random House India. This is not a paid review.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with
1) First Reads Challenge at b00k r3vi3ws
2) Indian Quills Reading Challenge at Tales Pensieve.


(Sept 9th, 2013)

One thought on “Book Review: Because I am a Girl – Seven Girls Seven Lives, by Plan India

Comments are closed.