Book Review: English Bites! My Fullproof English Learning Formula, by Manish Gupta

english_bites_by_manish_gupta

About the author:
Manish Gupta is a banking professional. When not crunching numbers, he examines the vagaries and the idiosyncracies of the English language. This is his debut book.

Cover and blurb:
A very humorous cover, one that reminded me of college days when we used to dive into books for last minute notes, books that were otherwise left mostly untouched. English, thankfully, has not been one of my nightmares. But the blurb made me interested in it for sure.

My thoughts on the book:
Let me be frank. I’m actually quite scared to review this book. The author loves to examine the vagaries of the English language. I’m quite worried that he would look at this review and examine it for flaws that have cropped up in it. I’m expecting a long mail from him with points saying my review was missing a colon, or that it had a fragment.

Jokes aside, this book was a fun read. The book is the author’s journey with the language. I took his advice and read the book slowly, and allowed the fun to sink in. It’s hilarious. I can’t quite explain how it feels to read a humor book that is non-fiction and still enjoy it so much.

What I enjoyed most in the book were the mnemonics to remember things. Oh, if only I had this book when I was in school, I’d have been so much better with English than I was. I’d even have aced Geography which had a chapter on planets and I mostly managed to get the order of the planets wrong! (Even in the finals, to my great dismay). There are even some fun acronyms in the book. How many of us know what the acronym DINK stands for? I didn’t, and neither did my sister. Another thing we loved was the part on Amphibology. I won’t reveal what it means, but I can tell you this. We sometimes use it without even realizing that we are doing so. When we chanced upon this one in the book, we burst out laughing! We read a palindrome about a cat and a car that was super funny! Even the illustrations inside were funny, especially the one with the two drunks.

A common mistake most of us make is to use a particular word in a wrong way. A word has multiple meanings. We can’t use them in the same way always. Do you know the word which has the most uses? That particular word has 58 noun uses, 126 uses as a verb and ten as an adjective? No. You’ll find it in the book, and that’s an example of how useful and interactive this book can be.

I find this book a very easy to understand, fun to follow, and an engaging guide to learning the quirks of the English language. I find it so for the fact that this is not a textbook, but a journey through someone’s experiences. Imagining the paths that he has taken, you not only learn but enjoy learning. If I were to meet the author some day, I’ll be sure to get my copy of this book autographed from him. This book, without doubt, goes into my favorites’ shelf.


Rated a perfect 10/10
Rated a perfect 10/10

Book Details:
Title: English Bites
Author: Manish Gupta
ISBN: 9780143419006
Genre: Humor / Non-fiction
Publishers: Penguin Books India
Price: INR. 250

 


This is an author-requested review, given for a review copy of the book, but no other payment.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with
1) First Reads Challenge at b00k r3vi3ws
2) Indian Quills Reading Challenge at Tales Pensieve.


(3rd Nov, 2013)

5 thoughts on “Book Review: English Bites! My Fullproof English Learning Formula, by Manish Gupta

  1. Dear Leo,

    I thank you for your detailed and complimentary review and your gracious rating. I also thank you for your efforts to showcase the best parts of the book thru your blog and for agreeing to share precise details of the chapters/passages in the book where I can make improvements to make the book more relevant and more interesting (this thanks is in anticipation of a positive response).

    I am also extremely happy that I could, in a small way, further fuel your love for this language. I am counting on your support to spread the good word about the book esp. when people ask you for recommendation on books to improve their language. And I am sure, given your background and the accomplishments in this field, there are just so many of them who keep seeking your guidance.

    Many thanks & best regards, Manish
    Twitter: @English_Bites
    Facebook Account: http://www.facebook.com/manishdeepaligupta
    Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/EnglishBitesBook

    1. Dear Smitha,

      Thank you very much for your interest in English Bites! If you are keen on the book, you can get it from any of the leading bookstores like Crossword, Oxford, Landmark, Sapna, etc. and all online re-sellers like Amazon.in, Flipkart.com, Uread.com, Shopping.Indiatimes.com/books, Infibeam.com, ebay.in, Snapdeal.com, etc. etc. Amazon.in is currently offering a large discount on books (as are all other resellers) with the additional sop of free delivery regardless of the value of purchase. You can also order an eBook version of English Bites! from Amazon.in or Apple’s Book Store. Happy reading! Regards, Manish

    2. Thanks Smitha. The book is available on amazon.com and amazon.in as an ebook as well for an instant download if you prefer to read ebooks. Happy reading! Best regards, Manish

Comments are closed.