Book Review: Haroun and Luka, by Salman Rushdie

haroun_and_luka_salman_rushdie

About the author:
Sir Ahmed Salman Rushdie is a novelist and essayist. Much of his early fiction is set at least partly on the Indian subcontinent. His style is often classified as magical realism, while a dominant theme of his work is the story of the many connections, disruptions and migrations between the Eastern and Western world.

Cover and blurb:
The book is a set of two of Rushdie’s novels, so has two covers, both quite whimsical and fun.

My thoughts on the book:
Haroun: What’s the use of stories that aren’t even true?

I asked that question and the Unthinkable Thing happened: my father can’t tell stories anymore. That means no more laughter in the city of Alifbay and now the place stinks of sadness. So it’s up to me to put things right. If the water genie Iff can take me on the Hoopoe bird Butt all the way to Gup City then maybe, just maybe, I’ll be able to persuade the Grand Comptroller to give my father his Story Water supply back.

Honestly, I don’t like to ask myself the same question that Haroun asked. Being a fan of fiction, to write, to read and to share with my friends, I hate to contemplate a world where only true stories are useful. After all, the imaginary world is a source of escape from the troubles of this real world (and vice versa too).

Having previously read only Midnight’s Children, I hadn’t a very good impression of Rushdie’s storytelling skills. This book has changed that. It’s quite interesting and engaging… both the characters and the lands. Quite fun and flavorful.

The book is actually a double book, with Luka and Fire of Life also in the same book. This is the sequel to Haroun and the Sea of Stories, and again, it is equally as impressive in the storytelling skill. A collection worth reading. And re-readable for sure.


A rating of 8/10
A rating of 8/10

Book Details:
Title: Haroun and Luka
Author: Salman Rushdie
ISBN: 9780099583042
Genre: Short Stories / Fiction
Publishers: Vintage
Price: INR. 399

 


This book was given to me for review by Random House India. This is not a paid review.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with Indian Quills at Tales Pensieve.


(13th Nov, 2013)

