Book Review: 34 Bubblegums and Candies, by Preeti Shenoy

34_bubblegums_and_candies_preeti_shenoy

About the author:
Preeti Shenoy is an author and artist. She believes life is the biggest teacher. She is an avid blogger, whose poetry has also been published. This is her first book.

Cover and blurb:
A very simple cover, with thoughts in candies and intersecting bubbles from two characters… knowing the author from her fiction works, I’d say the stories in this book would have relationships involved for sure. The blurb is actually quite appealing as well.

My thoughts on the book:
After reading this, I’ve read every book that this author has written… three novels, and this book, which is a creative non-fiction. I’ve not loved the other three, but I’ve not hated them either. I’ve been looking to add this to my reading list since a while. Finally, I’ve done so. And you know what? It was beautiful.

34 Bubblegums and Candies are short incidents that the author narrates from her life, or from life. They aren’t very boring or dull; in fact, they are quite simple and easy to read. Like it says in the blurb, some are humorous, and some are moving. I could easily imagine a couple of them being true, and relating them to someone I know, sometimes even my own family. It’s not out and out humor, but it is there in bits and pieces. The pace of each is very smooth and quick, and you can read the book in a couple of hours. This is something I find true to all her published works as well. From the book, you do get something to remember. It becomes fun to remember too.

On the flipside, the editing of the book was mediocre at most. It lets you down there. Sometimes, you want to know more about a character in the story, but the chapter closes then and there. It feels more like short posts than stories. I know and understand that it is true life incidents that she talks of, but I still feel it could have been presented better.

Overall, if you take away just the things that matter, it’s quite inspiring. It shows you life at its best and worst; and with some wit and emotion as well. If you count the editing and look for a better presentation, it falls in expectations a little. Not a lot, but just a tad. I liked it, but I feel it’s an individual’s choice in the end. You might, or might not, like it.


Rated a 7 on 10!
Rated a 7 on 10!

Book Details:
Title: 34 Bubblegums and Candies
Author: Preeti Shenoy
ISBN: 9788188575688
Genre: Creative Non Fiction
Publishers: Srishti Publishers
Price: INR. 100

 


The book was borrowed for reading from the local library. This is not a paid review.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with Indian Quills Reading Challenge at Tales Pensieve.


(14th Nov, 2013)

