Posted in Books

Book Review: Day is Night, by J R Jyoti

My thoughts on the book:
Humor is not a genre I take lightly. I know very few authors who can actually do that genre justice. So when a book promises to tickle the funny bones, I expect laughs, not chuckles.

Okay. I’d adjust with more laughs and a few chuckles thrown in. But nothing less. This book, Day is Night, promises humorous stories on the cover itself. Unfortunately, the book doesn’t deliver. Neither were they stories, nor humorous. I could say they were satirical to a certain extent, but it was just a collection of 62 thoughts the author must have had in his mind. They are expressed as they are. The ending of each thought sometimes gets a chuckle, but the reader has to go through a couple of pages of rant to get there.

Oddly enough, the book has no about page for the author. We do get to know him a little through the preface, but no specific page, not even a paragraph. I’d picked this book expecting a lot. Sad to say, I’m feeling let down.


Rated 4/10
Rated 4/10

Book Details:
Title: Day is Night
Author: J. R. Jyoti
ISBN: 9798179926320
Genre: Humor
Publishers: Jaico Books
Price: INR 175


This book was given to me for review by Jaico Books. This is not a paid review.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with
1) First Reads Challenge at b00k r3vi3ws
2) Indian Quills Reading Challenge at Tales Pensieve.


(15th Nov, 2013)

Author:

Poetry and writing are to me, a breath of fresh air in a life that is sometimes covered by the smoke of sorrow or self doubt. They also become the sweets I share to celebrate when life offers me a reason to. But most of all, they are to me, my life. For each word I write is a piece of my heart, a thought that just had to find its way into the world.