Book Review: Aisle Be Damned, by Rishi Piparaiya

aisle_be_damned_rishi_piparaiya

About the author:
Rishi Piparaiya is an over-worked and over-traveled corporate executive based in the skies, 38000 feet over India. (No kidding! This is from the back cover!)

Cover art:
An airhostess in red uniform headed down the aisle dominates the cover. A small red airplane zooming around her is quite a nice touch. The book I feel will be humorous, but I wonder if it’ll interest me, a non-flyer as compared to harassed flyers (frequent or otherwise).

My thoughts on the book:
Ok. So this book lands up with no prior notice. The only thing I know is that it’s from the publisher, but I have no recollection of having requested the book. The title hadn’t felt that appealing in the list of released books that I had got earlier, and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read it or not. Like I said, the thought of me inside an airplane itself is quite humorous, so the thought of me reading a book on airplane humor, that felt beyond humorous. It went back in my list of to be read books, but got a promotion recently, because I seem to be in a humor rush. This is the fourth or fifth book that is in the humor genre that I’ve read in the last month alone.

The only inkling I have of flying is that I took a flight to Cochin way back in 1998 (or thereabouts), forgot to put cotton in my ears and ended up spending a day or two after with a sonic sound in my ears. That’s the end of my air adventure. Nothing after that. Nil. Nada. Zip! Fortunately or unfortunately, this book turned out to be kind of my second air adventure, but in the warm confines of my bed, rather than 38000 feet up in the air inside a metal contraption. Aisle be damned if I ever put the tips and experiences given by Rishi in Aisle Be Damned to use, but I did find a dose of fresh humor in the book; especially the pictures and the captions. The first one, with the security check triggering an alarm… that one got me laughing out loud. How he builds up to the picture is quite interesting too.

This is one of those books, which even after reading, I can’t tell what to better. If I knew what to tell I would, but I don’t, so I’ll not make things up. (Not my style!) This is a book for those who go on flights, and they would be able to understand or relate to this book far more than I have been able to. The author has a funny bone, I grant you that, and he does succeed in making me laugh. Maybe I’ll re-read it if/when I have a few flight journeys under my belt.


Rated a 6/10
Rated a 6/10

Book Details:
Title: Aisle Be Damned
Author: Rishi Piparaiya
ASIN: 9788184954654
Genre: Non-fiction / Humor
Publishers: Jaico Books
Price: INR. 250

 


This book was given to me for review by Jaico Books. This is not a paid review.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with
1) First Reads Challenge at b00k r3vi3ws
2) Indian Quills Reading Challenge at Tales Pensieve.


(19th Nov, 2013)

