Book Review: The Storm in my Mind, by Ayaan Basu

the_storm_in_my_mind_ayaan_basu

About the author:
Ayaan Basu is a striving author, an avid blogger and a columnist fighting his days between MNC-clad work schedule, writing and veracious traveling routine. Being single, apart from writing, eh was also a singer/guitarist for a Kolkata based rock band – Driftwood. This is his first attempt at penning a novel.

Cover art:
The book has a rustic cover that draws you in. This is almost a complete opposite to what the title suggests.

Thoughts on the book:
There are two things that are constant in my life – reading and writing. Other things may or may not go my way, but to date, these two things haven’t let me down a lot. To discuss books with other book lovers is as interesting as reading a good book. It was in one such discussion that the author’s name came up, and my friend told that this book was one that was eagerly awaited, and one that felt like a good read. The title didn’t appeal much to me. But the cover did. That rustic-looking cover, so soothing and attractive… it just drew me in.

The book is the story of Aryan and his life, his relationships and his relationship with Kolkata. It’s quite true to life and the characters are brought to life by Ayaan’s narration which goes easily from page to page. When I say true to life, I mean life in general as it is now. You can understand that part of the novel quite easily. Other than that, I really don’t have much to say about the novel, which is quite sad. You might feel that you’ve read this story somewhere, and you might have, though not exactly this story. It’s a plot that goes on expected lines, with hardly any twists or changes. The dialogues, unlike the characters, feel quite plain even with Ayaan’s clear narration. Maybe a little more attention in the editing part wouldn’t have gone amiss either, and possible helped that part find some clarity as well.

I don’t know if the word “confessions” is applicable to this book. I’ll leave the reader to be a judge of that. On the whole, I feel this is a one-time quick-read kind of book. Not exactly new, but neither is it completely run-of-the-mill.


Rated a 6/10
Rated a 6/10

Book Details:
Title: The Storm in my Mind
Author: Ayaan Basu
ASIN: 9789380349992
Genre: Romance
Publishers: Srishti Publishers
Price: INR. 100

 


This book was given to me for review by Srishti Publications. This is not a paid review.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with
1) First Reads Challenge at b00k r3vi3ws
2) Indian Quills at Tales Pensieve.


(19th Nov, 2013)

