(Book Review) D: Ten Years. Two Lives. One Café, by Aniruddha Mahale

Sometimes a book jumps out at you for one reason… that’s the cover. It makes you think of what unfolds in the book. It stays in your head even if you don’t buy the book immediately, like a reminder… “Remember me? You loved me at first sight. Won’t you come back and buy me soon?” Funny but true, that’s what a good cover does.

d_aniruddha_mahale

I hadn’t heard anything about this book before a friend added it on Goodreads, and it came up on my home page. D: Ten Years. Two Lives. One Café. What a beautiful title. But the cover… it was the café on the cover that invited me to read further, and wonder what had happened between the two characters in that café. It took me a while to buy it, but buy I did. What can I say? Must be serendipitous that just as I was thinking what to purchase, I win a gift voucher and this book fits the bill. Do you believe in love at first sight? This book is somewhat similar. But no, it’s not your run of the mill love story. It’s a journey of memories that start from a chance meet between a spunky teenage girl D and an introvert young boy A at a cafe, and proceed over the next ten years.

So, what makes this book different from any other love story? Well, it’s not mushy for one thing. For another, it doesn’t feel like a love story, more like one that can happen between two friends as well. The editing is well done for the most part, and the book moves from scene to scene, meeting to meeting very easily. If the cover can make you imagine a café, their dialogues can make you imagine the scene of their meeting. The images just pop up into your mind. It has a lot of philosophy that is put across in a light manner, and that makes you smile as you read them too. Especially the ideas of destiny, and a bucket list to solve problems. A different thought, that I quite enjoyed reading.

The flipside is that it sometimes feels dull, and repetitive. I wish there was more than coffee and croissants in their scenes. It’s a good touch to indicate their choice of food, and affection for each other, but that could have been done some other way perhaps. The dullness thankfully doesn’t affect the pace of the book too much.

Quite worth reading, I feel, is this tale of two lives and one café. It might even be worth revisiting sometime soon. Thanks to that friend who brought this book to my notice!

IN A GIST:
Positives: Beautiful cover! Not mushy, easily imaginable, quick read with few editing errors (if any).
Negatives: Scenes feel repetitive after some time.


Rated a 7 on 10!
Rated a 7 on 10!

Book Details:
Title: D: Ten Years. Two Lives. One Café.
Author: Aniruddha Mahale
ISBN: 9789332421103
Genre: Fiction
Publishers: Paperclip Books
Price: INR. 100

 


The book was purchased by me. No payment was taken for this review.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with
1) First Reads Challenge at b00k r3vi3ws
2) Indian Quills Reading Challenge at Tales Pensieve.


(29th Nov, 2013)

