Book Review: Sirens Spell Danger, by C Suresh, Radha S and Karthik L.

sirens_suresh_radha_karthik

I begin 2014 with a book that’s written by three people who’re very close to me, three bloggers-turned-authors.

Thrill is a genre that I love to read, and try to write. To have the reader on the edge of their favorite reading place, turning pages to find out what happens next and where it’ll end up is an absolutely amazing thing! To do that successfully, kudos to these three.

This book has three novella length stories, and is quite a short one. It’s easy to read, and quite fun. If it weren’t that this book is an e-book, I’d have pestered the authors for a signed copy.

Suresh, who’s one of the best humor writers I know, takes us into the fast paced action that unfolds when a guy is smitten by a beautiful girl, and falls into a predicament. The guy opens, and falls into a Pandora’s box if you will, finding himself kidnapped, that help is from an unexpected source, and when all seems to be going well, another surprising turn of events leaves him even more confused. You see him choose between head and heart, and kind of end up praying that all should be well. CS (as he’s fondly called in blogger circles) might have just made a new genre. This is like a rom-com-thriller. Read, and you’ll enjoy for sure.

In the second story, Radha’s knowledge of chemistry shines through with a tale of poisons. I’ve interacted with Radha lesser than the other two authors, but her writing style is very appealing, and I’m taken in by her start. There is a lot of details in the story, which is a medical thriller as you’d expect, but having read her previously, I don’t find it cumbersome. It may seem a little confusing, but it keeps its grip till the end.

The third story is Karthik’s, and he’s written to his strength and produced kind of a sci-fi paranormal thriller. Again, there is quite a few details, but these details to me didn’t add to the thrill, and I found myself skimming few paragraphs and such. The thrill aspect does shine through well, but it’s after the details and towards the end. I liked it, and it works, but it is one that I feel, knowing Karthik and his writing strength, could have been executed even better.

It’s a value buy I feel, and the stories are some that I would enjoy reading again. If you are an e-book enthusiast, I’d say it’s a good companion for a couple of hours journey. You’ll not notice the time flying by!


A rating of 8/10
A rating of 8/10

Book Details:
Title: Sirens Spell Danger
Author: C Suresh, Karthik L, Radha S
Genre: Thriller
ASIN: B00HBJ5TMM
Publisher: Self-published via Amazon
Price: INR. 99

 


This book is a personal copy. No payment was taken for this review.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with Indian Quills Reading Challenge 2014 at Tales Pensieve.


(1st January, 2014)

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Sirens Spell Danger, by C Suresh, Radha S and Karthik L.

Comments are closed.