Book Review: What God Said, by Neale Donald Walsch

what_god_said_neale_walsch

Non-fiction isn’t my cup of tea, as many of my readers and friends know. Non-fiction spirituality is even more out of my comfort zone than the genre in general, but this book came to me as a surprise (or shock). From an author who has written a lot of books, and a Conversations with God series, this book is set to explore the messages from those nine conversations in a simpler way.

I’m a spiritual person, yes, but I have not taken a journey through a spiritual book in a while now. The journey through this book was, to be frank, a mixed experience. I wouldn’t go as far as to say I loved it, or as far as to say I hated it. There are thoughts and messages that are very valid, and helpful and to which I found myself nodding, and agreeing. Particularly the 1000 word gist at the start of the second chapter comes to mind. And from that, the words “there is nothing you have to do”, and its explanation. It was a tad confusing, but I felt that was spot on. I wouldn’t be far off if I said, that from the book as a whole, this chapter would be a great takeaway.

It wouldn’t be fair for me to hunt for details to point out and say, “No. This was wrong” because like I said earlier, this was a tough journey. I like going to genres outside my comfort zone, but not so far either. It was a tough read for me, and not something that kept my attention, I’m sorry to say. It’s a personal choice of course, not a reflection on how good or bad the book is. If you are a non-fiction enthusiast and spiritual as well, possibly this book may appeal to you more than it did to me.

IN A GIST:
Positives: Good messages, some of which I agree with. Second chapter especially was wonderful.
Negatives: N/a (not my genre to review properly, so I won’t push to find mistakes)

About the Author:
Neale Donald Walsch is the author of the Conversations with God series, a modern day spiritual messenger whose words touch the world in many profound ways. His work has taken him from the steps of Macchu Picchu in Peru to the steps of the Shinto shrines of Japan, from Red Square in Moscow to St. Peters Square in Vatican City to Tiananmen Square in China. And everywhere he has gone-from South Africa to Norway, Croatia to The Netherlands, the streets of Zurich to the streets of Seoul, Neale has found a hunger among the people to find a new way to live, at last, in peace and harmony, and he has sought to bring people a new understanding of life and of God which would allow them to experience that.


Book Details:
Title: What God Said
Author: Neale Donald Walsch
ISBN: 9781444787993
Genre: Spirituality
Publishers: Hodder/Hachette India
Price: INR. 350


This book was given to me for review by Hachette India. This is not a paid review.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with First Reads Challenge at b00k r3vi3ws


(3rd January, 2014)

