Book Review: Adhuri Prem Kahaniya, by Santosh Avvannavar

adhuri_prem_kahaniya_santosh_avvannavar

This book, according to its blurb, covers the light moments from the lives of twelve lovers over the years. Yeah, it covers the moments, absolutely spot on.

The blurb also has a question someone once asked the author, and his candid reply to it. I think that the last sentence was the first warning I had about what to expect from the book.

The book captures moments of love, but that’s all they are. Yes, they may have a story in them that might be more long lasting, or evolved over time, but these moments are expressed as they happened, with little to no excitement. It’s as if the moment just happened, and that’s all there was to it. The book’s first moment starts with the mention of Oxford dictionary. The book definitely needed one.

The book has nothing memorable either. There are moments that you may easily identify with, but sadly, it doesn’t bring out a smile. This is not how I would want to read tales of love. I understand that it is a non-fiction book, but with love being a magical feeling, I think the treatment given to this book is undeserving. I couldn’t feel any magic at all. The book suffered from lack of editing, right from the blurb to the last page. The language is conversational, with Hindi thrown in liberally, and I felt it was like the author was sitting next to me and just speaking without any enthusiasm. The illustrations inside do very little to make it any better.

Perhaps the best aspect of the book is the cover. The author does invite entries for the next in this series of stories. I pray that book finds a good editor, and it will be much better than this. Not a book I’d recommend.

Story aside, I hear from one of my reviewer friends that the intention behind this book is a noble one. I appreciate the author for that, and thank him for sending me a signed copy to read.

In A Gist:
Positives: Cover design
Negatives: Language, shoddy grammar, no magic of love in narration

About the author:
Santosh Avvannavar started his career as a consultant and Soft Skills Trainer. He did his college education from NITK, Surathkal. He functioned as a scientist at University of Eindhoven, College of Twente and Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. This is his first book.


Rated 3 or less, from 10.
Rated 3 or less, from 10.

Book Details:
Title: Adhuri Prem Kahaniya
Series: N/A
Author: Santosh Avvannavar
Genre: Non-fiction love stories
ISBN/ASIN: 9789383271399
Publisher: Power Publishers
Price: INR. 150

 


This is an author-requested review, given for a review copy of the book, but no other payment.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with
1) First Reads Challenge at b00k r3vi3ws
2) Indian Quills 2014 at Tales Pensieve.


(9th January, 2014)

