Book Review: Baramulla Bomber, by Clark Prasad

baramulla_bomber_clark_prasad

Thrillers are something that I love to read. If done well, they pull me into the plot, make me captivated and unable to think of any other book till I finish it, usually at one go. If not done well, it feels heavy and I can’t wait for it to end. As with any book, it’s the plot that makes or breaks a thriller novel, so when I read “science fiction espionage thriller” on the cover of Baramulla Bomber, it caught my attention. Not to mention, the cover itself was very nicely designed. When I read the blurb, I was wondering if it’ll be a good read, or has the author tried to do too much at one go.

The book is built around three characters: Mansur, an aspiring cricketer being investigated by intelligence agencies; his girlfriend Aahana who’s investigating a mountaineering accident; and Adolf, a Swede investigator who’s covering both of these together. Sounds interesting, doesn’t it? After this, we’re taken through the thrill part. The sci-fi/fantasy part revolves around a mysterious weapon from the vedas, and takes you on an international journey to justify the details.

After reading, the first question I had the answer to was if the author had tried to do too much. I felt he had. To combine cricket with a weapon from ancient texts, take you across continents and politics was quite a task. It has been successful for the most part. The book has its share of suspense, but overall, I think the effect it gets is quite boring, especially in the starting parts. If you survive the starting part of the novel, I feel the middle parts are more suited to the pace of a thriller, and it builds towards the end. The ending itself isn’t the best, and felt hurried. The characters feel one-toned and not very memorable with little to no development, and the editing is below par, as with most Indian titles nowadays.

The book has the potential to thrill you, but it doesn’t exactly live up to that potential I feel. I hope the next book from the author is much more memorable for the story than the cover. This, for me, was a one-time read.

In A Gist:
Positives: Plot interest, cover design.
Negatives: One-toned characters, hurried ending, heavy beginning.

About the author:
Clark Prasad is an Indian author. He believes in conspiracy theories, and Baramulla Bomber is his first book. He currently works as a healthcare management consultant in Bangalore.


Rated a 6/10
Rated a 6/10

Book Details:
Title: Baramulla Bomber
Series: N/a
Author: Clark Prasad
Genre: Espionage Thriller
ISBN/ASIN: 9789381523971
Publisher: Niyogi Books
Price: INR. 395

 


This book was given to me for review by The Readers Cosmos. This is not a paid review.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with
1) First Reads Challenge at b00k r3vi3ws
2) Indian Quills 2014 at Tales Pensieve.


(30th January, 2014)

