Book Review: The Longest Ride, by Nicholas Sparks

The thing about popular authors is that their reputation precedes them. Even if I haven’t read their books or know their style, just by the way people around me rave about their work, I feel that their books will, or should, have that quality in their work. There are exceptions to this case of course, but when I hear Nicholas Sparks, I imagine that he’s at the top when it comes to romance fiction, considering my sister is one huge fan of his work.

the_longest_ride_sparks

The Longest Ride is not one story but two, two love stories of two different generations and ages. It is this that makes this book more appealing to me. It shows the difference, like two phases of a jelly perhaps. One is just into the mold and starting to take shape. The other is (or was) set and waiting to be bitten into. The common thing between them of course is that they are sweet. It is because one story is waiting to be explored that makes that story more loved, more eager to be read and enjoyed. Ira’s eternal love for Ruth made that part captivating, and engaging. Sophia and Luke… their story was likeable, but not superb I feel, even with the different backgrounds and the should-not-work-but-does-work plot. Perhaps it was meant to be that way, because their characters have no oomph, no excitement factor that makes it memorable.

Did the book manage to make me a fan of Nicholas Sparks? I don’t know yet. It was good, and almost great. It makes me think of reading another book to see how his writing style is, if it is the same or if it offers variety. So in that way, I feel the book is successful. It’d have been much better if both stories were equally engaging and exciting, or even if Sophie and Luke’s characters didn’t feel one-colored.

In A Gist:
Positives: Ira and Ruth’s story, engaging narration.
Negatives: Luke and Sophie’s story not as exciting, and their characters were dull.

About the author:
Nicholas Sparks is an American author, screenwriter and producer. He has written eighteen novels, and eight of his romantic dramas have been adapted to film.


Rated a 7 on 10!
Rated a 7 on 10!

Book Details:
Title: The Longest Ride
Series: N/a
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Genre: Romance Drama
ISBN/ASIN: 9780751549973
Publisher: Hachette India / Sphere
Price: INR. 350

 


This book was given to me for review by Hachette India. This is not a paid review.
The opinions expressed in the review are my own, and remain unbiased and uninfluenced.


Shared with First Reads Challenge at b00k r3vi3ws


(31st January, 2014)

