Book Review: The Kill Switch, by James Rollins and Grant Blackwood

Thrillers make interesting reading. The genre is my favorite, and the most read in my shelves. I’ve read quite a few authors and some have become a favorite, so much so that I have their complete collection. James Rollins and Grant Blackwood were authors I had previously not heard of when I took it for reading. The premise of the book interested me.

the_kill_switch_james_rollins_grant_blackwood

The Kill Switch follows a former army ranger Tucker Wayne and his military working dog with exceptional abilities, Kane, who is able to understand a lot more words than you’d expect of a dog perhaps. They attempt to extract a man who holds in his hand the secret to a bioweapon that could change the world as we know it, a Russian pharmaceutical magnate. If only it was that easy, huh? If the duo wants the secret to save the world from it, there are others who want it to put its deadly nature into, well, deadly use. And thus begins a chase from one corner of the world to another.

Action sequences are an important part of any novel in this genre, and there are enough of them in this book. The pace is good and the story moves along fine. I liked the characters of both Tucker and Kane, but more the latter. I think it’s nice to have a doggy detective sometimes. The chapters from his point of view were especially nice. Unfortunately, the remaining characters felt uninteresting. And though a straightforward plot is not a terrible thing, I wished there were a few twists in this plot. It’d have made the book more interesting than it is.

The book is engaging and fun, though straightforward. Not the best thriller, but not the worst either.


Rated a 7 on 10!
Rated a 7 on 10!

Book Details:
Title: The Kill Switch
Series: Tucker Wayne #1
Author: James Rollins & Grant Blackwood
Genre: Thriller
ISBN/ASIN: 9781409156420
Publisher: Orion / Hachette India
Price: INR 399

Reviewed for Hachette India, in exchange for a review copy. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(31st December 2014)

Leo_new_sign1

