Book Review: Transactions of Belonging, by Jaya Padmanabhan

Some books see the light of a reader by word of mouth. Such books sometimes make for wonderful reading, because it is suggested by a friend, someone who you know knows your book tastes well. This book came to me in such a way. First that friend gave me her copy. I liked what I read, so I bought a copy of my own.

transactions_of_belonging_jaya_padmanabhan

“Transactions of Belonging” is a set of short stories that explore the facets of life. Life is, I find, intense. The stories in the book echoed that intensity, and had sadness imbibed into it. It appealed to me because the style of writing was one that I relate to, with attention to details and descriptive too. The emotions are done justice and you feel every bit of the sadness, the pain they feel. The stories feel true, and so do the characters. There might be one such character in your life. It could even be you. It’s even more impressive that the language used to bring the story to life is simple and easy to follow. Stories like “The Blue Arc” stay with us long after the read is over.

True to life, emotional, the book is a bit difficult to review properly. From the cover page to the characters to the storylines, I don’t know what I like best. But I hope to add on to this review someday. I think the book will remain on my shelf for a long time. So a second read will definitely be on the cards.


Rated a 9/10
Rated a 9/10

Book Details:
Title: Transactions of Belonging
Series: N/a
Author: Jaya Padmanabhan
Genre: Short Stories
ISBN/ASIN: 9789383562275
Publisher: Platinum Press
Price: INR 145

I own a copy of the book. The views expressed here are my own, and unbiased.


(31st December 2014)

Leo_new_sign1

