Book Review: Mayil Will Not Be Quiet, by Sowmya Rajendran & Niveditha Subramaniam

Diaries are not meant to be read by other people, they’re the personal thoughts of the one who writes it; unless of course, like Anne Frank, the diary is wished to be published, or like Mayil, the protagonist of this book, whose diary is the story itself.

mayil_will_not_be_quiet

Mayil Ganesan gets a notebook on her birthday and with it a space to talk as much as she wants to. She likes to talk, and according to her, her mother once used to promise her allowance if she managed to keep quiet for a while. She has a loving family, and some wonderful friends. Through her diary, we travel along with her on her life’s journey. From her memories, to her first crush, the first time she breaks rules to her dreams of becoming a writer.

Unlike Anne Frank, Mayil’s diary is a happy one; a light read that’s fun and also believable and informative. The cover and illustrations are hilarious, and makes me wonder if Mayil drew in her diary too. Her diary entries aside, the gal herself is a wonderful character and any reader can relate to her I believe. Her jealousy when a new girl enters her inner circle; how she has her first crush, and how someone has a crush on her, her excitement and also her fear when she breaks rules, her love for her grandfather and kid brother (who apart from being another character that I love, also has an interesting name – Thamarai), her first stage act… this book is like a journey through childhood. I didn’t feel the time whiling away as I read it. Even the other characters – Thamarai, Ki, Jyothi, her grandfather, her super cool mum who is protective of her, yet gives Mayil her space, her father who teaches her there is nothing wrong in apologizing if she hurts someone – each character felt well sketched. There are lessons that every kid is taught as they grow up, and they come out in an easy manner through this book. I wanted to read more, and I was sad that it ended so quickly.

This is a book that can be enjoyed equally by both children and grown-ups. And something I’d definitely read again. There’s another Mayil book waiting to be read, but I hope the authors bring more of this wonderful little girl to the bookshelves soon. If I ever meet the authors, I’m definitely getting my copy signed.


The Bookworm Rates This: 5/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 5/5
Book Details
Title: Mayil Will Not Be Quiet Series: Mayil Series #1
Author(s):
Niveditha Subramaniam
and Sowmya Rajendran
Genre: Children’s Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: 9788181468550 Publisher: Tulika Publishers
No. of Pages: 103 Price: Rs. 150

I own a copy of this book. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(1st January 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Mayil Will Not Be Quiet, by Sowmya Rajendran & Niveditha Subramaniam

  1. Sounds delightful. I was worried when you made the Anne Frank reference that it would be a sad book, but this sounds so much fun! Thanks for the review.

  2. Hello Vinay. I chanced upon this review through Goodreads. I’m very glad you enjoyed our book! Please do read the sequel Mostly Madly Mayil as well. Will be glad to sign your copy if we do end up meeting 🙂

    1. I hope we do end up meeting then 🙂 I loved the story, and I finished it on New Year’s. I’m reading Mostly Madly Mayil, and it’s nice so far.

      Also saw that you’ve shared it on your FB page. Thank you for that. 🙂

Comments are closed.