Book Review: Fade into Red, by Reshma K. Barshikar

When I was asked if I’d be interested to share my thoughts on this book, I had hesitated a bit. Romance/chick-lit genre is not one that I’m particularly fond of. But the blurb, and the recommendation of a friend who is as crazy about books as I am, convinced me that it might be worth it. And I think it was, because it had an element of believability to it.

fade_into_red_reshma_barshikar

Fade into Red is the story of Arya, who loves art history, but like most of us, she ends up pursuing a field that’s more career oriented – investment banking. She tries to manage her career and family life while also maintaining a long distance relationship. When things look to be on track with the latter two, the career throws a spanner into the works and sends her off on a trip to Tuscany. The trip, initially thought to be a short one, ends up giving more problems than she expects. The rest of the book deals with how she manages and gets past those problems.

The story works for me because if you don’t give the character a name, it can be the story of many – a story of sacrificing the things that matter for a career, one that pays in cash than joys and peace of mind. Reshma’s narration style is simple, engaging for the most part, sometimes humorous and holds the reader to a plot that is just as simple. It’s that narration which brings to life, not only the story but also the setting. While most of the characters are interesting, I felt Arya stood out more than the rest by a long way, and especially with her strength to survive what’s thrown at her.

The book is not unpredictable, and I knew where it was headed. At times, the narration jars. I don’t know why, but I didn’t like Kartik, the boyfriend very much or Ishaan, the third dude for that matter. Though their fights and or altercations felt believable, it just didn’t work for me. The parts where there is business talk, that felt uninteresting and slow, even with the setting.

This is a light read, it has more to it than just romance, but it will be best enjoyed by a reader who loves to read romance books.


The Bookworm Rates This: 3/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 3/5
Book Details
Title: Fade into Red
Author(s): Reshma K. Barshikar Genre: Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: 9788184005547 Publisher: Random House India
No. of Pages: 363 Price: Rs. 399

Reviewed for Book R3vi3ws, in exchange for a review copy. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(7th January 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

