Book Review: Kuch Khwaab Sagar Se, by Kunal Uniyal

kuch_khwab_sagar_se_kunal_narayan_uniyalI’m not very adept at Hindi poetry, but I do like reading it. Reviewing it, however, is another thing I don’t feel I’m good at. My grasp at the language is not as strong as other reviewers. However, when the poet approached me for this review for कुछ ख़्वाब सागर से, I thought I would give it a try. I think it helps any reader who’s not adept at Hindi that the book is a small one. But it was the title that intrigued me. Dreams from the Ocean, what a wonderful title. When I imagine the ocean, I imagine it to be calming, like dreams. I wondered if it would reflect that.

Favorite poems and thoughts:
My favorite poem from the collection is titled असली इंसान. It is a simple poem that speaks of the poet’s idea of what a real human being should be. I enjoyed reading this poem as I feel he speaks a lot of truth with this verse. He who dreams for the good of mankind is a real human being. Though I don’t quite know if I’d agree that not fearing death when it is near is a quality of a real human being. That’s quite normal I think, and it shows we’re human.

Another poem I liked is बस सो जाऊँ. Again, it is a poem that speaks a lot of truth; about a race to reach the peak of success. It kind of reminded me of the words of Rancho in the movie 3 Idiots. Don’t chase after success, but after knowledge. Then success will chase after you. But it’s not exactly on those words. It speaks in a tone of evaluating life once that peak is reached, that thirst for victory is quenched. Though I’m not quite at that peak, I could understand where he was headed.

सिर्फ मेरे होंगे मेरे ख़्वाब is a third that felt nice. It tells of a dream that was shown to the narrator by another person, dangled in front of him like the proverbial carrot, and once he reached for it succumbing to temptation, that dream was no longer there. It’s a poem that I could relate to, sadly. But the ending was quite cheerful and hopeful.

I liked most of the poems in this collection, because they were simple and I could relate to them. Even with that simplicity, the thoughts expressed are deep and meaningful. But I think the length of each poem would make it difficult for a reader like me (slow at Hindi) to continue to be engaged by their beauty. I don’t feel I can suggest any places for improvement as I don’t read Hindi books much, and my suggestions may not be right or helpful.

I’ll conclude my thoughts on this collection of poems by saying most of the poems are simple and enjoyable, but they may be more enjoyable for a reader who loves to read Hindi poetry. But what a poem says may vary from reader to reader, so a definitive judgment on the collection, I will not make.


The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
Book Details
Title: कुछ ख़्वाब सागर से
Author(s): Kunal Uniyal Genre: Poetry, Hindi
ISBN/ASIN: 9788192050843 Publisher: Immortal Doon Publishing
No. of Pages: 80 Price: Rs. 200

Reviewed for the author, who gave me a soft-copy of the book. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 11th February 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Kuch Khwaab Sagar Se, by Kunal Uniyal

Comments are closed.