Book Review: Digital Fortress, by Dan Brown

digital_fortress_dan_brownI’ve always been intrigued by thrillers. I had heard of Dan Brown, mostly for his book The Da Vinci Code, but somehow, the author and his books eluded my bookshelf and even when they came to it, I delayed reading. The first book I got was this one, and a title that intrigued me from the get-go. Even though it is a digital world these days, it’s hardly a fortress, so I wondered what the book would bring.

Susan Fletcher, head cryptographer at the NSA is surprised when she’s called in on her day off. When she comes in, everything seems as normal as she left it, but her boss tells her it is not. The NSA’s code breaking supercomputer, which has never taken very long to break a code, has been stuck on a piece of code for hours. That code is called Digital Fortress, developed by one who was once their own, Ensei Tankado. With the code, Tankado holds the NSA to ransom. The NSA is determined to stop that from happening, but can they? Tankado dies on the other side of the world, holding with him, a ring that has the code to stop Digital Fortress. David Becker, Susan’s fiancé, travels to find that ring. Can he?

What defines a thriller to me is pace, and this book has loads of it. The pages kept turning, and I was glued to the story from start to finish. The characters are interesting, and I was eager to know more of them. The chemistry between Susan and David is well written; even the code between them “Without Wax” was quite nice. When few moments in the thriller manage to bring a smile without affecting the interest in the thrill, like the relief Susan feels seeing David safe, and his proposal then, I feel the author succeeds in bringing a human touch to the read too. I’m no code breaker or whiz at math, so the code and the answer to it, how they break it in the end; that was exciting to read.

This book is wonderful, and will be one of my favorites.


The Bookworm Rates This: 5/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 5/5
Book Details
Title: Digital Fortress
Author(s): Dan Brown Genre: Thriller
ISBN/ASIN: 9780552159739 Publisher: Corgi Books
No. of Pages: 512 Price: Rs. 550

I have a copy of the book. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 12th February 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

