Book Review: Breach, by Amrita Chowdhury

Cyber thrillers are a genre new to my bookshelf. Only recently, I had read Ravi Subramanian’s latest book which was kind of in that genre. But I love thrillers, so I had no hesitation in taking this book for review.

breach_amrita_chowdhury

“Breach” happens in different parts of the world. It starts off at Acel, which is a pharmaceutical company developing and looking to patent a wonder drug for cancer, Colare. The scientists there find some error in the data, which could be from the India lab of their company, a new branch headed by Dr. Udai Vir Dhingra. When it is confirmed that it was indeed the Mumbai data centre which was hacked, Vir is blamed for being negligent, and he must find out who is behind the hacking to save his career. But in cyber world, it’s not as easy as it sounds.

Firstly, I loved the cover design. It was impressive. I’ve seen this style of writing in Ravi Subramanian’s book too; the short crisp chapters which help move the story along quickly. Here too, it is no different. Once we’re into the essence of the novel, it’s fast paced and nicely written. It’s not an out-and-out thriller, because it has a fair share of drama too. The characters are well thought of, and they felt real, and sometimes scary. I liked particularly, the characters of Madhu and Raghu and the conclusion given to their story.

You know how they say “On your mark, get set, go” at the start of the race? In this novel, the getting set part takes longer than I expect in a thriller, because it involves getting to know the umpteen characters and settings that make this book, and putting in a bit of the drama too. Any cyber thriller will have a lot of technical terms relating to that industry, and there were some that went over my head. I don’t think they mattered to the story in a particular way, but it kind of slowed the read for me.

While I wouldn’t say “Breach” was the best thriller I’ve read of late, it was definitely engaging, once the pace picked up. Quite a nice book.


The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
Book Details
Title: Breach
Author(s): Amrita Chowdhury Genre: Thriller
ISBN/ASIN: 9789350098554 Publisher: Hachette India
No. of Pages: 337 Price: Rs. 350

Reviewed for the author/PR, who gave me a copy of the book. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 20th March 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

