Book Review: Love Across Borders, edited by Naheed Hassan and Sabahat Muhammad

love_across_borders_anthologyBorders… we create them, we live by them and within them, and we’re not interested to breach them. It’s not just in countries but in our thinking too, I feel. But this book is not about breaching borders, but about bringing two countries together. The power of the written word to unite people is something I’ve believed in always, and this book “Love Across Borders” is an effort towards that.

The story “Serendipity” follows the love story of a couple Neha and Riyaz. Yamini’s narration held my interest, and I liked seeing little bits and pieces like Neha’s thoughts on a coffee date, and how the love story develops. The ending line left a big smile on my face, and made me wonder if such love stories are there in the real world too. There might be.

The story “Anjum” shows friendships can blossom between strangers, and how one can help each other irrespective of country or religion. The friendship between Vandu and Anjum is such, and it’s not split by distance when the former moves abroad. The character of the cheerful, bubbly, positive Anjum was a delight to read, and stayed in my mind long after.

“Dressed to Kill” is one of my favorite stories in the collection. It is about an unexpected friendship that is formed over the matter of a dress, not just any dress but one for the most important occasion. What delighted me in the story is the character of the two girls, so contrasting to each other, and to the mothers’ character too. The words of Sejal to her mother just before the epilogue paragraph are just wonderful.

“Lost and Found” is a story that spans generations. It showed the power of memories and the eagerness of youth too. A friendship forged between two men from different countries and warmth in the ending paragraph just made this story happen. And I hope such stories continue to happen.

I liked most of the stories in this book. They’re beautifully written, meaningful, engaging, emotional and thought-provoking. There were odd typos here and there, but nothing that disengages the reader from the tale. I think I can safely say this book will stay in my favorites always.


The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
Book Details
Title: Love Across Borders
Editor(s):
Naheed Hassan
Sabahat Muhammad
Genre: Anthology
ISBN/ASIN: B00GKA1CVU Publisher: Indireads
No. of Pages: 91 Price: Rs. 99

I have a copy of the book. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 24th March 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

