Book Review: Edge of Danger, by Jack Higgins

There are few authors I love to go back to and read when it comes to the thriller genre. Jack Higgins, and his go-to character Sean Dillon, is one of them. I have read a few of his books, and I chanced upon this one at the library.

Blogging from A to Z: E for Edge of Danger
Blogging from A to Z: E for Edge of Danger

The Rashid family are half English, half Arab and one of the influential families there is. When their mother is killed by a Russian diplomat who was drunk, Paul Rashid wants revenge. But the diplomat is protected both by Russia as well as The United States. In an extreme reaction, Paul Rashid declares war on the President, and wants him assassinated. The task is given to an Irish terrorist, and the information comes, and with it the task to stop it, to Ferguson and Sean Dillon. Can they? And if they are, will the Rashid family stop any further attempts. The novel follows Sean Dillon, Blake Johnson and the team as they race from one corner of the world to another to save the world; or at least a part of it.

I loved the pace in the story. From start to finish, it’s well written and it kept me engaged. The narration and language are simple, and that helps the book too. Though nothing much unexpected happens, no major twists or turns, the action pushes the book along. The relationship between Kate and Dillon continues to intrigue me too. I also like the ending which sets up the next book and an idea where that’s headed.

What I’d have loved more was something unexpected happening. It’d have thrown me as a reader and made me more curious to know what happened and what it’ll lead to; something more evil and sinister other than going from one target to another.

It’s not an amazing thriller by any stretch of the imagination, but not one that’s very bad either. I’ve read better from Higgins, that’s for sure.


The Bookworm Rates This: 3/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 3/5
Book Details
Title: Edge of Danger
Author(s): Jack Higgins Genre: Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: 9780007833924 Publisher: Harper Collins
No. of Pages: 345 Price: Rs. 299

I borrowed the book from the library. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 6th April 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

