On the Rocks: Stories of Connections, by Shan Fazelbhoy — Book Review

Blogging from A to Z: O for On The Rocks
Blogging from A to Z: O for On The Rocks

Would you connect in the same way with a person if you were meeting them after many years? Or what is that which connects you to that special someone in your life? Is it love, or is it lust or a bit of both? Shan Fazelbhoy’s collection of stories, “On the Rocks”, explores these “connects” of life that are having difficulties.

I would pick out the first story, Divine Justice, as a standout. I feel so for the reason that it suited the title, it developed the story and told about what got the protagonist Maya to the place where the story has been set, and then delivered a fine punch with the ending. It made me smile. I understood it one way, and then realized later how the title fit in.

The story The Lilac Jacket too impresses me as it shows with the “connect”, the difference between love and lust. Though I felt that Rakesh didn’t deserve that chance, the ending also made me hope for a happy ending for them in the future. It also made me wonder if there are Sumans in many such stories in life too, to become an obstacle for love.

The title story On the Rocks didn’t feel as strong as the first one, but it was lusty and descriptive. Through the read, I was wondering if the two would have their happy ending after many years of waiting, though the mention of Mitali kind of gave away how the story would end.

Not every story though is heavy. With the story Cinderella, the author brought to the collection a bit of humor. I wondered what the “connect” was, but it flashed in after a while, and made me smile. It was good to have a light story to ease what is otherwise a collection heavy with emotions of love, lust and disappointment.

I love the narration style of the author, and the stories are edited well. They kept me engaged and it was a quick read too. What I would have liked is a better cover design. The cover is what catches the eye first with any book, and this one didn’t have a spark I feel.

Definitely not a one-time read, but I’d say some gap between reads would be good. I enjoyed reading it.


The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
Book Details
Title: On The Rocks: Stories of Connections
Author(s): Shan Fazebhoy Genre: Short Stories
ISBN/ASIN: 9789352013029 Publisher: Frog Books
No. of Pages: 102 Price: 125

Reviewed for Frog Books, who gave me a copy of the book. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 17th April 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

