Book Review: Sights & Sounds of the World, by Khushwant Singh

Blogging from A to Z: S for Sights and Sounds of the World
Blogging from A to Z: S for Sights and Sounds of the World

Books help us to travel without actually leaving the place where we’re reading it. It’s even truer when the book in question is a travelogue. Like some books are found in the most unexpected of places, I found this one hiding between two reference books at the library. I might have let it pass by, but for the author. Khushwant Singh is a name known to most book lovers in India, and one who I have enjoyed reading. I hadn’t read a travelogue from this man, and I thought it might be a worthy read.

Through the book, the author takes me along to many places, some which I know and some which I don’t. Most of the places are new to me. From Minicoy Island, one of the few inhabited islands in Lakshadweep, to Norway and Italy, I travel without leaving my desk. Even small observations help to build a picture of the place in question.

“What I like most are the beauties of nature: mountains, forests, lakes, fast-moving rivers, sea-sides in all climates, and at all hours of days and nights. You may not share all my passions, and may find repeated references to them somewhat boring. I crave your forgiveness.” He writes so in the prologue. I share those passions with him much, and whenever I travel, I do like to head to those places which have the beauty of nature, but yes, maybe a lot of them in one book might have pushed away some of the interest I have. But that’s acceptable perhaps.

Is there a Khushwant Singh charm to the writing? Absolutely, without doubt there is. It appeals to me in the sense that it adds to my knowledge of these places he visits. But it won’t serve any purpose sitting on my bookshelf when its tales would appeal more to another, possibly someone who has visited or might visit these places.


The Bookworm Rates This: 3/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 3/5
Book Details
Title: Sights and Sounds of the World
Author(s): Khushwant Singh Genre: Travel
ISBN/ASIN: 9788187478256 Publisher: India Today
No. of Pages: 295 Price: INR. 250

I found a copy at the library. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 22nd April 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

