Book Review: Urban Shots Yuva, edited by Lipi Mehta

Blogging from A to Z: U for Urban Shots
Blogging from A to Z: U for Urban Shots

When it comes to short stories, it’s very difficult to judge the book. Each author has their own style, some of them work, and some of them do not. I’ve not been a big fan of the Urban Shots series of anthologies, having read one quite a while back but this one felt different. Perhaps what appealed was the kind of stories, more realistic and more intense than the one I had read. As with anthologies, I cannot give a comprehensive review of each story, but I share my thoughts on the favorites from the collection.

Memories need just a hair-trigger to rise from the depths. That was the case in the story Elephant. A photo triggers a memory of an ex-girlfriend and leads to a contemplation of would life have been better if she hadn’t been “ex”. The story is expressive of that. But it still raised a couple of questions.

The Love Note explores the love between a couple, one that started a year before their marriage, but that felt lost to Rahul now. The transition from boyfriend/girlfriend to husband/wife hasn’t quite happened without its worries, and seems to escalate just at the wrong time. Can they understand each other before it’s too late? I liked the story and the ending, but yes, I wondered if the ending was realistic.

Perhaps the best of the lot is the story Slut. Oh, how we label girls so easily, victimize them with our words not knowing if they are already victims. This is the story of such a girl, and as such, has that powerful feeling slipping through easily. But continuing with the positives, I love how the girl deals with it, and how it ended.

The story Shimmer leaves me with a smile. It speaks of a love that is quite close, a storyline that seems very familiar and understandable. It’s a simple story, but told with wonderful passion.

Overall, most of the stories in this collection are well written, thoughtful, and as I said earlier, intense. But there are a few which could’ve been written better, maybe edited a little tighter. That’s a flipside of an anthology of course.

Definitely one collection that will stay in my shelf for a while, Urban Shots Yuva leaves me with a sense of happiness that I pray linger as well.


The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
Book Details
Title: Urban Shots – Yuva
Editor: Lipi Mehta Genre: Anthology
ISBN/ASIN: 9788129129888 Publisher: Rupa Publications
No. of Pages: 177 Price: INR. 250

I own a copy of the book. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 24th April 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

