Book Review: The Many Lives of Ruby Iyer, by Laxmi Hariharan

When I first heard about the book from my friends, there were different genres being mentioned. One said it was a thriller, another said it was YA, and a third friend said it was paranormal. Maybe it was a curiosity to know if it was all three that made me take up the book for reading. And yes, I guess The Many Lives of Ruby Iyer is a cross genre book.

the_many_lives_of_ruby_iyer

Ruby Iyer’s best friend is kidnapped, and she is determined to rescue him. And she’ll go to any lengths to do it. She finds an ally in Vikram. Together, they try to save Panky from Kamini Braganza. To think of saving her best friend is one thing, but to do it is another. She faces obstacles, meets bad guys and what not. There’s plenty of action and that makes for interesting reading.

Good points: Well, I liked the character of Ruby. It had the potential of a strong female protagonist and for the most part, I felt that the character was done justice, be it with the perfections or the imperfections. The pace of narration is mostly steady, though I felt it wavered a bit at times. It was easy to imagine, though not pleasant when it came to the blood spilling scenes. The other characters, though they don’t stand out as much as Ruby, were also done justice.

What didn’t work: I don’t know why, it just didn’t feel engaging. I couldn’t connect with the character as much as I would have liked to. She didn’t feel very real at times. With the beginning, even I ended up wondering how she survived that accident. And there are other scenes that just felt right out of a movie. Language wise, it is not difficult to follow but still needed some tighter editing. I do not know if I would classify it as YA either.

The book, and especially the main character, has the potential to be good. But it still needs something more. Maybe the next book in the series would push the character of Ruby to that level. I certainly hope that it does.


The Bookworm Rates This: 3/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 3/5
Book Details
Title: The Many Lives of Ruby Iyer
Author(s): Laxmi Hariharan Genre: Thriller
ISBN/ASIN:
9788192144818
Publisher:
Read Out Loud Publishing
No. of Pages: 302 Price: INR. 250

I was given a signed review copy by the author via The Readdicts. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 10th May 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

