Book Review: Hama-Guri Goes to School, by Aditi Bose

I have a fondness for children’s stories, and love to read them. I honestly feel that there’s a part of me which refuses to grow up, so the genre appeals in particular to that part of me. What appealed to me when I first read the title of the book is the name of the main character. I had no idea what the cover looked like at that time, so it was just that name, Hama-Guri, which piqued interest in the story.

hama_guri_goes_to_school_aditi_bose

The collection has five stories – Hama-Guri Loses a Competition, Hama-Guri Stops a Bully, Hama-Guri Learns How to Manage Time, It is Doctor Day for Hama-Guri and Hama-Guri Earns Pocket Money. Each story looks at imparting valuable lessons, and features the bubbly six year old boy Hama-Guri and his friends and family.

From the five, I liked the first story the most, probably because it has the most important lesson of the five. The story aims to show that it doesn’t matter if you win or lose, but it matters that you try the hardest, and that’s one lesson that I feel needs to be ingrained early in life. If winning is given precedence always, then the disappointment of defeat will be hard to bear. And even that is shown well in the story.

The second story aims to show that bullying is not right, the third shows how doing things on time is important, the fourth a doctor’s visit and the last one the importance of saving. I feel each story has been given its due justice. The character names are fun, and bring a smile. And the cover design, simple as it is, is beautiful. I’m told the final copy, which is due to release soon, will have pictures in it. I feel that will help the stories to make more of a mark on children than a plain black and white print. And I hope it also reaches children in a hardcopy format. As much as eBooks are popular these days, for a child, the joy of flipping pages and seeing pictures and reading is incomparable.

I would suggest the author go through the book once more before final print/launch. There are typos and missing words that would make a difference. Also, I would suggest a similarity in how Hama calls his parents. Mumma and Pappa would make more sense than Mumma and Father, I feel. Though it’s not unheard of, it felt odd to me to read it that way. And lastly, I thought the title might have been something different. Though the first two stories are school-relevant, the other three (and even the lessons imparted by all five) are not particular to school.

Here’s hoping the book, when completed with pictures and proofread again, makes more impact than this ARC did, and wishing the author and the book success.


The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
Book Details
Title: Hama-Guri Goes to School
Author(s): Aditi Bose Genre: Children’s Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: B00XEH14VU Publisher: Cresco Books
No. of Pages: 93 Price: £1.99

The author gave me an Advance Reviewer’s Copy. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 11th May 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

Leave a Reply

