Book Review: The Secret Garden, by Frances Hodgson Burnett

the_secret_garden_frances_burnett

How wonderful it is to go into a book, fall into its world and come out with a smile. Especially when it is a children’s book, the trip through its many pages feel more refreshing, for with it, at times, we go back to our own childhoods, feeling the nostalgia, sharing the smiles and reliving the mischiefs and tantrums of the characters. That feeling is unlike any other, a little depressing but mostly exhilarating. An age-old classic, The Secret Garden, took me back these last two days, and I’m delighted for that. Such books are evergreen.

I have to admit, I didn’t feel very sorry for Mary Lennox when she got sent away to the lonely mansion at Misseltwaithe. The little girl, unwanted and pampered beyond belief, felt deserving of that, for she didn’t care for no one around her. But, as children’s stories usually go, the transformation from that spoiled girl to one who gets on quite well on her own happened. And though that was expected, to read the story and imagine it happen was amazing. The character of Martha Sowerby played no less a part in that as the Secret Garden itself, but I suppose my favorite character from the story is a little redbreast robin, who got a smile on my face whenever he appeared on the scene. There aren’t any twists and turns, a children’s story needn’t be so, and it’s Magic, the same Magic that transforms Mary and Dickon and Colin in the story, that I felt and which kept me hooked to reading the book. Mary, being the one to start the tale, I felt should have been a little more prominent towards the end of the tale too, but she isn’t.

I’m pretty certain that, once you get used to the Yorkshire English in the dialogues, the story would flow easily. I liked the depiction of India from the perspective of Little Mary. How a child sees the world around her might totally different from how an adult sees it, and that’s what makes childhood, the whole innocence of it, so much more Magical.

I’d re-read it often, and the world inside The Secret Garden would be fresh in my mind for a long long long time to come! Five stars is the least I’d give this wonderful book.


The Bookworm Rates This: 5/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 5/5
Book Details
Title: The Secret Garden
Author(s):
Frances Hodgson Burnett
Genre:
Classics / Children’s Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: 9780007351060 Publisher: Collins Classics

I own a copy of the book. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 26th August 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

