Posted in Books

Book Review: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, by Lewis Carroll

Alice in Wonderland – I think the name of the book itself makes you smile, for that’s another part of childhood that we can’t let go that easily. It’s something I do when I need to re-find my love for reading. Go back and read what I loved, and discover that magic again. To be really honest, I don’t quite remember reading this book then, so it was almost like a new experience reading it now. And it was fun.

It was fun falling down the rabbit hole, chasing the white rabbit, watching Alice eat the cake and drink the potion, and of course, meeting Absolem. It was fun hearing Alice talk to herself and see the illustrations as she was stuck in the house of the rabbit. It made me smile from ear to ear, this book, and it went by in a flash.

Reading a book now is a completely different experience to reading it when I was a child. I see things more than I did then, and understand them in a different way. How delightful it was that I found a quote in the book itself, that put that feeling to words.

“It’s no use going back to yesterday, because I was a different person then.”

Perhaps the most interesting character is the Hatter. Try as I did, I couldn’t suppress the voice from the movie perking up in my imagination.

“Why is a raven like a writing desk?”

And knowing what lay ahead. It didn’t suppress the happiness though. Only rarely does the smile a book brings gets suppressed.

Did I absolutely love the book to bits and ready to call it my favorite? No. But it’s close. And I stop with a final quote…

“We’re all mad here.”


The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
Book Details
Title: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
Author(s): Lewis Carroll Genre: Children’s Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: B0084AVKZW Publisher: Amazon Digital

I own a copy of the book. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 29th August 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

Author:

Poetry and writing are to me, a breath of fresh air in a life that is sometimes covered by the smoke of sorrow or self doubt. They also become the sweets I share to celebrate when life offers me a reason to. But most of all, they are to me, my life. For each word I write is a piece of my heart, a thought that just had to find its way into the world.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.