Book Review: Through the Looking Glass, by Lewis Carroll

through_the_looking_glass_lewis_carroll

Sequels are fun when the first book of the series is enjoyable. Though it inadvertently becomes judged by that first book too. If the first book was amazing, could it live up to that? If the first book was mediocre, then can it be amazing and make even the first book seem acceptable? And in the case of this book, can the beloved character of Alice be just as adorable and interesting as she was in the first book.

I don’t quite know if I liked Through the Looking Glass as much as I did the first book, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, but it’s almost of that caliber, I think. The book, happening inside Alice’s head, has these quirky character that only a child can dream of, I feel. Humpty Dumpty, Tweedledee and Tweedledum, the Kings and Queens… the Jabberwocky. It felt adventurous and I liked it. And I also liked Alice’s chatter with the kittens at the start.

Looking at it from memories, the quote that stood out most for me was

“When I use a word, it means just what I choose it to mean—neither more, nor less.”

How often what one says is misinterpreted, but I suppose in a way, how the other chooses it to mean will vary. It would be wonderful if one word had just one meaning, instead of many. Alas, that’s not meant to happen always.

And again, the voice from the movie rings through my head as I read, “Why, sometimes, I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”

But it leaves me with a smile, and in the end, I suppose that’s what matters the most. A fun read, but again, not the best of the best I feel.


The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
Book Details
Title: Through the Looking Glass
Author(s): Lewis Carroll Genre: Children’s Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: B0083ZQVBQ Publisher: Amazon Digital

I own a copy of the book. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 30th August 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

Leave a Reply

