Book Review: Tuesdays with Morrie, by Mitch Albom

tuesdays_with_morrie_mitch_albom

Non-fiction is not something I like usually, but there are some that buck the trend and end up being a favorite. This is one such book. I cannot quite put to words why I loved it, but I will try.

Tuesdays with Morrie is a self-help/inspirational book that is sort of a biography. Mitch Albom introduces and takes us through the last lessons and moments he shares with his former teacher, Morrie Shwarz, who is exuberant, positive, celebrating life as he nears his final days.

Each topic of what Mitch notes down to talk about with Morrie resonates in my life, I think, and at one time or another, I have contemplated those thoughts, and even found the answer I got similar to what Morrie tells.

“Death ends a life, not a relationship.”

How true. Almost all of us look at death, and at most times, fear it. Morrie looks at it in a different way, and I think it’s beautiful. It is because death doesn’t end a relationship that we cherish those memories we have had with them, and remember them in similar moments. But we don’t look at death or relationships like that all the time.

“Don’t let go too soon, but don’t hold on too long.”

Something I believe in, always. One cannot hold on to things for too long. Hold on too long, and it festers, and makes it difficult to let go. How soon is too soon, I don’t know that either. But I believe letting go after some time, giving a chance if that relationship, or action can be healed or rekindled, that’s important.

I’ve been a fan of Albom since I read his book Five People You Meet in Heaven. This book is equally good. Hadn’t I read that Morrie was Albom’s teacher, I might even think that this is a fiction, because it reads like a story. It flows from page to page, going back and forth in memories, and making me grip on to every single word. What he shares is not new, and we’ve been told so before, but how he puts it across is what makes this book better. I do not know if it changes my life in a big way, but I can say with a hundred percent certainty that it adds more value to it.

The book may not blow your socks off and inspire you; each of us have our own choices. But it’s worth reading. It might make a mark on you that even you may not realize.


The Bookworm Rates This: 5/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 5/5
Book Details
Title: Tuesdays With Morrie
Author(s): Mitch Albom Genre: Non-Fiction / Inspirational
ISBN/ASIN: 9780307275639 Publisher: Anchor Books

I own a copy of the book. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 8th September 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Tuesdays with Morrie, by Mitch Albom

  1. I haven’t heard of this one but I loved Albom’s Five People You Meet in Heaven. I love it when you can find a great author and read all of their books, knowing you won’t be disappointed!

Comments are closed.