Book Review: The Tale of Peter Rabbit, by Beatrix Potter

thetaleofpeterrabbit_beatrixpotter

One thing I have realized is that when you read a story to a child, or give a child that book to read, their expectations from the story are simple. It should have a story, something fun to imagine and yet make them think. Going back in time to my own childhood, I remember my mother telling me about the Boogeyman, or the beloved fairy tales like The Frog Prince and Hansel and Gretel. This book is a very recent discovery, and I quite enjoyed reading it.

Perhaps one thing every child has in oodles is mischief. They aren’t afraid to question, and they have that curiosity to do what is explicitly told not to. This book, The Tale of Peter Rabbit is one that tries to warn children and teach them about what might happen if they misbehave. I say “try” because the book brings such a mischievous fun character, that there is every possibility that the children will be lost in the story, rather than understanding the moral. The illustrations in the book only add to the magic, not take away from it. The language is kept simple and direct, as a children’s fiction should be.

The joy of reading is one that makes books like these, evergreen. I can’t wait for my neighbor’s daughters to return from their vacation, so I can read it to them.


The Bookworm Rates This: 5/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 5/5
Book Details
Title: The Tale of Peter Rabbit
Author(s): Beatrix Potter Genre: Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: 9780140542950 Publisher: Penguin

I own a copy of the book. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 20th October 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

Leave a Reply

