Book Review: Warrior, by Olivier Lafont

warrior_olivierlafont

There are times when a book gets pushed into the back of my shelf, literally, without my knowledge and it stays there inadvertently. I miss a few books like that, and they surface only when I rearrange the shelf. It is with an apology, thus, that I begin this review which has gone past all expectations of timeline that I usually stick to.

Some books bring a feeling of déjà vu with them, a feeling that I’ve read the book before but when and which, I cannot place. This book, Warrior by Olivier Lafont was one such. This is the story of Saam, and a race against time to save the world. Saam doesn’t seem to be any superhero, not at first read, but prophecies can change the life of even the most ordinary of men, can’t it? With allies, both trustworthy and not as trustworthy, his paths lead him and the group to adventure.

My first thought after the read is that there is plenty of action. That is vital of course, given that the book promised thrill and danger, death and betrayal. It also makes the slow start to the novel ignorable. The book promised interwoven mythology. That would require detailing too, and the book brings that out well as well. The language is clear and the narration is engaging once the pace picks up. There are different characters and that brings possibilities of twists and turns, which have been done justice and do not feel out of place.

I think Warrior is a book that holds promise, and is a page turner. Bar the early pace, I quite enjoyed reading it, and it’s a book I would pick up again after a while. Oh, and a mention to the beautiful cover-art too, before I forget.


The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 4/5
Book Details
Title: Warrior
Author(s): Olivier Lafont Genre: Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: 9780143423638 Publisher: Penguin Random House

Reviewed for the author/PR, in exchange for a copy of the book. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 24th September 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

