Book Review: Arcane Rhapsodies, by Navya Jain

arcane_rhapsodies_navya_jain

Poetry is a genre not every reader veers toward. They find it difficult to understand, perhaps, or don’t see the story in it. For a poet though, a poem is about telling a story, and one that speaks to their heart. This book is a bit of both, for with Arcane Rhapsodies, the poet Navya Jain brings stories from mythology to life in verse. And some that were new to me, the mythology genre lover. The cover art itself is quite beautiful, and the only thing I wished was that the title and poet’s name was more prominent.

I love a simple rhyme scheme. It adds to the flow and to the rhythm of the piece itself. It was a delight to see my favorite rhyme scheme being used throughout the book, and that made it fun, because I could read the verses out loud. The verses are written in simple language and easy to follow too. My favorite piece from the book was the tale of Kali of the Kali Yuga. And with Halloween around the corner, the poem on Jack-o-Lantern was also quite lovely to read.

I loved reading the stories in verse and also the information on each tale that was provided at the end of each one. It showed the effort that Navya put into the book itself. I shall savor the poetry again soon, and I hope Navya returns with more such works to enchant the poetry and mythology genre lovers.


The Bookworm Rates This: 5/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 5/5
Book Details
Title: Arcane Rhapsodies
Editor: Navya Jain Genre: Poetry
ISBN/ASIN: 9789352070268 Publisher: AuthorsPress

A review copy was given to me as part of The Tales Pensieve Book Reviewers Program. No other payment was taken. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 24th October 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

