Book Review: Michael’s Mystery by Linze Brandon

michaelsmystery

Fantasy is a genre that I love to read. It is joy when the story, and even more importantly, the narration, takes me to a world that is quite surreal, and far away from reality. I must confess though, that before reading the blurb, I thought it would be a crime fiction genre. It was a bit of both in the end.

I think the book is one of those where the plot takes time to unravel. Even from the first page, I had the feeling that I was jumping into the middle of a long series without having a clue what had happened prior to that. And going further also, I wasn’t wow-ed in particular by what unfolded. I must admit, the concept of men transforming into dragons (or the other way around) was intriguing, and that part helped to keep me engaged for a while. However, a lot of characters coming in quickly only managed to add to the confusion I felt. Does each character stand out and make sense in the bigger picture? Maybe they do. Their sketches fit well into the story and the genre. The author has a casual style of writing that sits well here.

To be quite frank, this wasn’t a book that I enjoyed reading. But it has the elements and characters that could still appeal to other readers who love the genre of fantasy.


The Bookworm Rates This: 2/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 2/5
Book Details
Title: Michael’s Mystery
Author: Linze Brandon Genre: Fantasy
ISBN/ASIN: 9781310139796 Publisher: Smashwords

A review copy was given to me as part of the b00k r3vi3ws blog tour. No other payment was taken. The views expressed here are my own, frank and uninfluenced.


(© 30th November 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

