Book Review: Live-in With A Ghost, by Kritika Sharma

I’m fond of ghost stories. A ghostly romance reminded me of a movie in Malayalam, and I was intrigued by the plot. It was when I was discussing with another book lover that I came to know there was a movie with a similar plot in English and in Hindi as well. It made me wonder if the book flowed in a similar way.

Kritika Sharma makes her debut with this book, “Live-in with a Ghost”. Jia wakes up in a hospital one night, and wanders around the empty halls, where she runs into Jai who is surprised that she can see him. He realizes that she, like him, is having an “out-of-body experience”. She wakes up, and he continues to be visible to her. After a while, she accepts his presence, and slowly begins to fall for him. But will he remember the times when he wakes up?

I didn’t expect to be surprised by how the tale flowed, because I had an idea how it might, and it did end up going in that direction. For those who have watched the movie, it might seem like dejavu, but the author’s style of narration is quite different and enjoyable as well. It helps to bring across the confusion that the character feels. There are even touches of humor like the ghost saving Jia (when only Jia can see him).

Characters-wise, the two main characters in the book are Jia and Jai. Both are interesting, and stand out. He’s romantic, but quite caring and wise and quick-witted. His back story adds a different dimension to his character which makes the romance between him and Jia more interesting, I feel. Jia, though she takes time to accept the fact that she can see a ghost, does seem the perfect match for Jai. Other than them, Jia’s sister is the only one who feels like is given prominence.

The novel could use another run through editing and proofreading though, as I could see typos here and there. I think Jai waking up towards the middle would have given more options to work with, rather than him waking up at the very end. When the blurb says, “he does wake up, but if he remembers her is yet to be known…” I’d expected Jai to wake up somewhere toward the middle, have trouble remembering his “out-of-body experience” and Jia to woo him back, so a one page conclusion that wrapped things up felt very odd and underwhelming.

The book is a quick one-time read, and can be a companion for a couple of hours’ journey. A decent debut, which makes me wonder what the author has in store for us with her next novel.


The Bookworm Rates This: 3/5
The Bookworm Rates This: 3/5
Book Details
Title: Live-in With A Ghost
Author(s): Kritika Sharma Genre: Romance
ISBN/ASIN: 9789384315139 Publisher: Half Baked Beans

A copy of the book was provided to me by the author. No other payment was taken for reviewing. The views expressed here are my own, unbiased and uninfluenced.


(© 18th December 2015)

Leo_new_sign1

