Book Review: Roomies/Foodies, by Meghana Chaudhary Joshi & Lakshmi Ashwin

Happiness is a cup of coffee and a good book, so I’ve heard, and agreed. But I’m a foodie. I love trying new food, as long as they don’t aggravate my allergies, and the caveat being that I can’t cook very well. A book about food and recipes, that also tells a story, that’s something I’ve loved to read. This book is something that fell plush into that genre.

Most friends around me who do cook, they like to experiment. Roomies Foodies is the outcome of two foodies deciding to put their recipes/experiments/protocols into a book, and share those ‘eureka moments’ with the world. The book has, not just the recipes, but vignettes through which they recollect how they came to try it. And yeah, some photographs of few of those yummy dishes.

I loved the recipes, some of which are simple enough for me to try. It’s quite useful for anyone who hasn’t cooked much but want to begin. There are few ingredients that we do not like or cannot eat, and the authors have taken that into account and have suggested alternatives for those which will still keep the dish easy and yummy.

I tried the recipe for banana nuggets, which were a variation on something I’ve loved since I was a child. And that came out really nice. Most of the recipes, for me, are simple, easy to make and not very time consuming either. It’s something I’d recommend to a couple of my foodie friends for sure. It’s not that often I like cookbooks and consider it for my bookshelf, but this is one I’d have, maybe even get it signed by the authors.


A score of 8 out of 10
A score of 8 out of 10
Book Details
Title: Roomies/Foodies
Author(s):
Lakshmi Ashwin and
Meghana Chaudhary Joshi
Genre:
Cookbook
ISBN/ASIN: B0196UDNYE Publisher: Bloody Good Book

The publisher gave me a copy of the book for review. No other payment was taken. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© 31st January 2016)

Leo_new_sign1

One thought on “Book Review: Roomies/Foodies, by Meghana Chaudhary Joshi & Lakshmi Ashwin

Leave a Reply

