Book Review: Very Good Lives, by JK Rowling

There are a few authors who inspire me, and continue to be in my list of favorite authors because of that, because of the memories their works invoke in me. One such author is J K Rowling. I wouldn’t be wrong if I said she has inspired many young minds across the world. More than the cover, the title of this book is what pushed me to read it. The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Imporance of Imagination. It felt like I could relate to that.

Any writer, be it a poet or a storyteller, would know the importance of imagination. It is my imagination which helped bring this book to life. OK. Not a book, but a speech. This book has the speech that Rowling gave to the students of Harvard University. Rowling speaks of her early life, the battles she faced, and quite literally, the importance of imagination. No, it’s not related to the bestselling series most of the world has come to love. But imagination in general.

It’s not possible to review a ‘speech’. Not really. But it is a mark of the impact the speech had that it reverberates still, enough to be made into a book. As I read it, I found myself agreeing with quite a few points that she makes during the speech. The artwork that accompanied it also added to the beauty of the words. I loved it a lot, and felt happy that I could read it and be inspired. That the proceeds from the sale of this book would go to a non profit international children’s organization only added to the joy.

Though it is a bit saddening that the price of the book is quite high, given that it’s a very small book, it remains a book that I’ll treasure and re-read when I can.


A score of 9 out of 10
A score of 9 out of 10
Book Details
Title: Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination
Author(s): JK Rowling Genre: Non-Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: 9781408706787 Publisher: Little Brown

I own a copy of the book. No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© 1st March 2016)

Leo_new_sign1

Leave a Reply

