Book Review: Silence and Sound, by Namitha K

Poetry is an expression of experience, mostly. Whether it is experiencing heartbreak or observing and enjoying the beauty of the setting sun, the poet puts it across in verse. As Muriel Rukeyser once said, “Breathe in experience, Breathe out poetry.” And with the experience, the poet can bring across simplicity or depth, calmness or intensity, and with those words, leave the reader mesmerized. I’ve said it before… reviewing poetry is not something I find easy, but like fiction, even the poet’s work is completed by the understanding of the reader.

Namitha, with this collection – Silence & Sound – brings to the reader, twenty four poems. I didn’t know what to expect, but there were a few poems I could relate to, and understand. When the first poem itself made an impression, I felt the book could be good. In that poem titled, ‘The Good Ol’ Days’, Namitha takes me back to childhood, the school and college days, the friendships that were formed then and in particular, those friendships that we felt would last a lifetime. She expresses how some such friendships are missed now, and years for those good ol’ days, and I yearn along with her. In particular, the line “I miss the weirdness we never did feign” makes an impact on me, and makes me contemplate how the times have changed. Another poem that left its mark on me was the one titled ‘A Rebel’. The poem expresses the mindset, not just of the rebel but also of the people around who try to pull him into the crowd when the rebel wants to dance to the beat of his own heart and stand out.

There are poems where I cannot relate, but I can still understand it, and feel the intensity in simplicity. My words may not do justice to what the poem, ‘Just another girl’ expresses. I’m quite sure some may even guess what the poem is about. The intensity from this poem seems to seamlessly spill over into the next one as well. Both poems are thought provoking, but the second one I am able to follow better, for it has been expressed to me by some of my closest friends as well.

There are a few poems on nature too, and one that caught my attention was ‘Puddles of Rain’. Her plea for the rain not to stop is so passionate, I couldn’t help but agree. I’m a self-confessed pluviophile – a lover of rain, so this had a beauty that I could easily imagine, and appreciate as well. The poem ‘Kindle every heart’ reminded me of the ‘deeparadhana’, the evening puja at the temple in my native village. To see that and let the beauty touch your heart, that feeling is so divine. There was even a photograph of it in the book, which made me wish that the photo was a color one, so I could picture it easier.

There are some places where some proofreading may help, and the :’) in the title of the first poem felt out of place, but other than that, there wasn’t much I disliked. I’m quite happy to have had the chance to read this book, and it’s one I’d re-read again soon as well. I hope the poetess brings out more such collections of her wonderful poetry.


A score of 9 out of 10
A score of 9 out of 10
Book Details
Title: Silence and Sound
Author(s): Namitha K Genre: Poetry
ISBN/ASIN: 9781482840933 Publisher: Partridge Publishing

The author gifted me a copy of this book for review, and no other payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© 10th March 2016)

Leo_new_sign1

Leave a Reply

