Book Review: My Dream Man, by Aditi Bose

There are times when I find that the first impression a book makes is confusing. The saying goes, don’t judge a book by the cover, but let’s be fair, that’s the first thing we notice about the book. When a book’s cover says one thing, the blurb says another, it becomes confusing. The cover of this book, My Dream Man, was something I did not like. It was pink, not my favorite color, and the cover art felt like a position right out of the Kama sutra. The blurb promised a romantic story, and I had liked the author’s first book, though that book was a completely different genre.

Ajopa Ganguly, a writer struggling to recover from the dejection of her manuscript’s rejection, seems to end up taking the hit negatively. She goes into a no-writing mode and instead takes up baking and embroidery in an attempt to make ends meet, though she’s well aware that that’s not what she’s passionate about. Aniket Verma, who once taught and tutored Economics to Ajopa, returns to her life. The friendship they had, could that be rekindled? He had encouraged her to write before, and now puts a challenge for her… to finish the manuscript in record time. What lies ahead for the two of them?

I am not a huge fan of the genre of romance, especially when I’ve seen quite a lot of novels go the usual mushy, sickly sweet route. But, of late, I have seen authors who bring more unique takes to the genre. Aditi Bose, while not bringing a completely new storyline to the genre, still brings something new. The mindset of the writer was brought out nicely, and presenting Ajopa’s life from first person, and as Ajopa dramatizing her life story, the author managed to tone down the mush and focus on the love that slowly seems to develop between Ajopa and Aniket. From the crush phase, to friendship, and to the end, it was done well.

Given the way it is narrated, the author’s focus is almost always on the main character of Ajopa, the girl who knows her calling even when she looks at other ‘careers’ after the manuscript rejection. She is also open minded, vocal about her choices and determined. I liked the intelligent Aniket Verma’s character too. And from the sub characters, I liked the way Ajopa’s father has been portrayed, especially in the scene with ‘X’. That scene made me smile.

As I said earlier, the cover just doesn’t work for me. It doesn’t seem relevant to the story at all, or the genre, and I can’t understand it. If I had to decide solely based on the cover, I would not have read the book. The initial character introductions, I felt, was very long. While it did give a proper idea of the characters of Ajopa and Aniket, it didn’t hold my interest. And my third gripe is for the twist in the middle of the story, which could have been done better.

The book, from about the fortieth page till the end, felt engaging. The narration was fluent, but like I said, it wasn’t unique. It flowed in a way I expected it to. There were a couple of twists, yes, but I liked only the second of those which was at the end. I think the paperback book has been edited well, but the presentation on the Kindle edition still needs some work I feel. It’s a quick, light read, which can be finished in a few hours. Nothing wow, nothing disappointing… a solid effort from the author. Hoping for better efforts to come.


A score of 6 out of 10
A score of 6 out of 10
Book Details
Title: My Dream Man
Author(s): Aditi Bose Genre: Romance
ISBN/ASIN: 9789385137365 Publisher: Authors’ Ink

This review is a part of the Blogger Outreach Program by Read Out Loud in association with b00k r3vi3w Tour. A copy of the book was provided to me. No other payment was taken. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© 12th March 2016)

Leo_new_sign1

