Book Review: A Dog Eat Dog-Food World, by C Suresh

There’s something about the genre of humor that usually stumps me. Not sure why, but it does. However, when someone I admire for his writing in that genre comes out with a book, I have to read it. Thankfully, the eBook was part of Kindle Unlimited which I subscribe to, so I borrowed a copy there than wait for a paperback.

The poor know what they would do with money if they had it, the rich have the money but don’t know what to do with it. It’s something that I have felt often seeing the obscene cash investments that are publicized. It is that which starts off this story. A man with money, aptly named Spike Fortune, doesn’t know what to do with it. He’s so rich that he’s not excited by anything, and constantly worries about spending money. The doctor he calls on usually prescribes him some pills, takes a big cheque and goes on his way, but when on an occasion, he suggests Mr. Fortune to invest in a business, he sets off a chain of events that make this book what it is. Necessity is the mother of invention after all. Mr. Fortune needed to spend money, so he invests, with the help of his nephew Jerry, into a dog food company. At first, he doesn’t look at making profits, but then when competitors enter the same field of business, ego takes over and makes necessity to be the best. Thus the growth begins. As necessary, more people come in. Ego and rivalry also bring in the competitors into a ‘Who is better?’ scenario. I’m not giving away more.

From chapter to chapter, the book looks at the way a business began, to the way it grew, it was marketed and the competition it faced. The characters and the situations they find themselves in made me laugh. Even the names of the two competing characters is such that one can’t help but smile. It’s written in such a simple, clear way that one might feel that this is actually reality, that there was/is such a company and such people. Look at the story more closer and I feel, perhaps it is a real story of any business, if not in the way it gets started, at least in the way that it develops. Even leaving out the business aspect, it is necessity that makes us compete to be the best instead of sitting still and being content. It also brings forth things like how team members might bring down others to get their way. Even with these aspects, it’s the humor in the story and the plot itself that remain the focus, so that is a real positive.

Initially, even this book stumped me, and I had to shelve it for a later time. But when I picked it up again, and made a bit of headway into the book, the story flowed better, quicker and had humor in it. It has been a long time since I read a book that kept me smiling, if not laughing, almost from the start till the very end. This book did, and it certainly lived up to any and all expectation that I had knowing the author’s style of writing. I have got a paperback, and will get it signed the next time I meet the author.


A score of 9 out of 10
A score of 9 out of 10
Book Details
Title: A Dog Eat Dog-Food World
Author(s): C Suresh Genre: Humor
ISBN/ASIN: 9789384315030 Publisher: Fablery

I own a copy of the book. No other payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© 28th March 2016)

Leo_new_sign1

4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Dog Eat Dog-Food World, by C Suresh

  1. Thanks Vinay! Lovely review. It is THIS that makes me happy about having written the book; every reader takes away something different from it. A lot have seen the marketing management concepts, some have seen the social satire as in what drives us to buy what we buy and you have seen the individual motivations part of it, too. Makes it worth having written the book.

    1. It was quite nice CS. 🙂 I think I had given up a little too quickly earlier, reading the prologue. But glad I persisted. It was a quick read too, as your Kindle Unlimited stats might have told you, I guess. :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

