Book Review: All of Me, by Jonali Karmakar

Short stories capture my attention in a different way from novels. While I love reading the novel length books, there is a certain charm about short stories that I like. It tries to tell a lot in a very short span, and to do it well is an art, I feel. This collection brings thirteen short stories, a mix of both fictional and real life inspired.

Favorite stories:
From the book, one of my favorite stories was ‘Blurred Lines’. The story shows how dependent we still are though we do seem independent and able to make our decisions. I liked the characters, and their helplessness which is well shown.

Another story that I liked was ‘Enchanted’, which was love and betrayal story that ended with a line that I quite agree with. It felt believable as well.

A third favorite was ‘Finding Myself’. Life never really goes to script, but when the world around pokes us about it and pushes its opinion, sometimes we end up accepting that version instead of believing we are special. This story has a central character that needed that self-acceptance.

There are stories that seem very direct, and a short(er) fiction ‘Maverick’ that had a twist I quite enjoyed.

What I liked:
Quite a few of the stories feel familiar, not just that I may have read a similar one before, but also that they are realistic in their plotting and the different types of characters seem to be present in the world around us. The narration style is very simple. I liked the cover art of the book too, and felt that it held some mystery.

What I didn’t like as much:
Some stories didn’t engage me as much as I would have liked it to, and felt like it would have been better if developed further, or done a different way. The story ‘Confessions of a Daughter’ could have been put across better, instead of a ‘journal’ feel. It makes an impact on the reader when he can feel the emotions of the characters. There are typos/print problems that could have been omitted with another round of proofreading I feel, but some do not stand out because the story was interesting.

All in all, I felt that the stories had potential, especially with the story ideas/plotting. A little more attention to making the emotions come alive, and the collection would have been much better. I look forward to the next collection of stories from the author, and wish her the best for that.


A score of 6 out of 10
A score of 6 out of 10
Book Details
Title: All of Me
Author: Jonali Karmakar Genre: Short Stories
ISBN/ASIN: B01G0P8JGK Publisher: Self Published

I own a copy of the book. No payment was taken was for the review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© 21st June 2016)

Leo_new_sign1

Leave a Reply

