Book Review: The Cleansweep Conspiracy, by Chuck Waldron

Having read a dystopian thriller very recently, I had thought of not reading another quite so soon. I had felt that the particular genre was not to my liking. But something about this book appealed to me, and I began to read it. I guess it was the blurb, or maybe even the word “Cleansweep” in the title.

The plot is a simple one, or is it? Verité is a blog that focuses on writing about the truth and exposing scams. The blogger behind it, Matt Tremain, follows up on rumors about a mysterious project that is said to be happening in Toronto, Canada. That project – “Cleansweep” – is said to be connected to Charles Claussen, a billionaire. His source, a whistleblower, reveals that with the project, Claussen plans to rid ‘undesirables’ from the streets of Toronto, and any citizens not falling into what Claussen and his screening process finds ‘desirable’. Tremain doubts that his blog has the kind of power needed to stop the Cleansweep project, but when the whistleblower is murdered, he becomes more determined. He needs to be careful though, for a wrong step can end up with Cleansweep claiming him as a victim as well.

The pace of the novel is mostly thrilling, though it sometimes slows down almost to a stop. I don’t mind that a lot. I like the characters, especially that of the ‘hero’ Matt Tremain. It felt relatable. The genre called for some high language, and I felt that that was there in the narration, and only added quality to the novel. And it had twists and turns, though with most parts, I could not feel the excitement that they demanded. And I also wanted to know why the characters were who they were. All this said, what struck me the most was something completely different.

‘There is no good or evil. There is only power and those too weak to seek it.’ – Lord Voldemort.

What I liked and yet hated in this dystopian thriller was that the plot felt all too familiar. The idea of one person trying to shape the world into what he feels the world should be, it is so known, be it in history with World Wars and revolutions, or in my favorite fictions like Harry Potter, where The Dark Lord wants to eliminate the wizarding world of Muggles. To spread hatred for the world that is undesirable to one is saddening, and it calls for a hero. Thankfully, in fiction or reality, there are good people who do rise up against the darkness to show the light.

Would I read ‘The Cleansweep Conspiracy’ again? I might. But I feel that it’s a one-time read, mostly. It was quite engaging, and it was a page turner. I enjoyed the story, and what it held. And I applaud the author for his work.


A score of 7 out of 10
A score of 7 out of 10
Book Details
Title: The Cleansweep Conspiracy
Author: Chuck Waldron Genre: Dystopian Fiction/Thriller
ISBN/ASIN: B01CR0HF1C Publisher: Self Published

The review is part of the iRead Book Tours, who provided a copy of the eBook for me to read. No other payment was taken. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© 22nd June 2016)

Leo_new_sign1

Leave a Reply

