Book Review: Ragnarok, by Siddhesh Govind Kabe

Science fiction is not one of my favorite genres to read. I’ve tried, but it hasn’t quite gelled with me for some reason. Maybe it’s the concept of science and theories and such to add on to the fiction that feels that way, after all, I mostly read to get away from theory. However, some fictions in the genre do feel interesting, and manage to engage me as a reader. I took up the book mainly because it was a personal request from the author, but the novel surprisingly did have elements that felt interesting, given I’m a sci-fi non-reader.

‘Ragnarok’ at times flits between timelines and characters, but it begins when an excavation at a site finds a buried man, who to the surprise of the excavator, is still breathing. The man is sent to a hospital and put under the care of Dr. Meghana, a child prodigy, who has never seen such an extreme case of amnesia in a patient prior to that. Then she finds out that powerful people are after the man, and they will stop at nothing to accomplish their goal. She has to outwit them, save her patient and find answers to many questions.

The novel engages me as a reader, perhaps because of the ultimate essence of the plot – a need to save someone and with that, save life as we know it. It’s a familiar plot, I agree, but each author gives a different spin to it. Ragnarok is different because of that. I liked the concept and the mystery a lot, leading to the discovery of the man, ‘Ansh’. I like the banter between the characters too, and the philosophy thrown in through quotes and such. I feel the pace varies between engaging and dull, it doesn’t remain steady, possibly due to my own disinterest in the genre. I liked the characters, in particular that of Dr. Meghana, which reminded me of Sheldon Cooper or Doogie Howser. Reading that introduction to her character made me smile.

I do not know what would have made it better, to be honest. I liked the plot and the concept, and how the author has delivered it. The science aspect of the fiction did not appeal to me as a reader, but I can see how it’d appeal to a fan of the genre itself. There are some places where editing could have been much tighter than it is, and that’d have taken the read up a notch too.

This was a book I enjoyed to an extent, and I might re-read it again at leisure in the future. Something for the sci-fi buffs to try, that’s for sure.


A score of 7 out of 10
A score of 7 out of 10
Book Details
Title: Ragnarok – Fate of the Gods
Author: Siddhesh Kabe Genre: Sci-fi
ISBN/ASIN: 9788192893648 Publisher: Half Baked Beans

This review was requested by the author, who provided a copy of the Book for me to read. No other payment was taken. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
5th July 2016)

Leo_new_sign1

Leave a Reply

