Book Review: Goodbye Girl, by Sheeja Jose

Very rarely does a book stump me and leave me contemplating on what to write about the book. There’s a story there, that’s certain. And it manages to surprise me as a reader. When I took the book to read, I thought the book would head in a certain direction, but the author does bring twist I had not expected.

Perhaps the reason the blurb of this book isn’t indicating the story is because the story is not linear. It begins one place, and heads in different directions, both in time and in plot. It’s the story of a girl, and the consequences of the decisions she takes. The blurb though makes its own impact, because as I read the novel, the line “If it can happen to me, it can happen to you” keeps coming at the back of my mind. It really could be any girl’s story, and that’s not really a solace.

It did engage me as a reader. The story had pace and made me turn the pages to find out what happens next. The corruption in politics or those who uphold the law, they are well brought out too. The story is a dark one, but it’s impossible to have such a storyline and make it seem bright and beautiful. It wouldn’t have been as interesting then.

I liked the protagonist and how the decisions she takes seem to pull her into a very realistic outcome, how many aspects her character sketch seems to have and such. The characters in her life, though not as prominently dealt with, do seem very real too.

Maybe it was the content, or the language, I don’t know. Something jarred when I was reading the novel, and made me shelve it a couple of times. Yet the curiosity to know what happened kept pulling me back to the novel as well. It could have been edited better perhaps, but in the end, it’s not that big a drawback.

The storyline takes me to different places as a reader, with the present being one line of thought and the past being another. The approach keeps it interesting. Yet it also tempts me to skip the pages and continue that line of thought. The language, in keeping with the mood of the novel, is quite dark. I like that it is, though such a volume of it did feel overwhelming at times.

The review on the cover calls it a sensational debut. I wouldn’t disagree too much with that verdict. It was a challenging book for me to read and review, but a book that I’d read again as well.


A score of 7 out of 10
A score of 7 out of 10
Book Details
Title: Goodbye Girl
Author(s): Sheeja Jose Genre: Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: 9788193047903 Publisher: Whitehall Publishers

No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
1st September 2016)

Leo_new_sign1

Leave a Reply

