Book Review: Among the Stars, by Dhasa Sathyan

There’s something about a well written short story that charms the reader. Perhaps it is the ability to connect threads in the span of a smaller word limit, or the chance to devour a story quickly. I love reading them, and I love writing them. To connect short stories across a book, and keep the reader guessing what the next story holds, that was an interesting concept. I did not expect to get short stories connected to each other when I took up “Among the Stars” for reading. The beginning of the collection, and the common thread between the stories, made me nostalgic.

As children, we never hesitated to ask questions. When I look back in time, I remember a time when I used to sit with my sister on the roof of our house at night. We’d talk about anything and everything, looking at the stars. The stories in this book are narrated by a father to his son as they lie under the stars. These stories could be answers to the simplest of questions; then again, they may not be. What they did do, is make me contemplate the possibility of such a turn of events.

Knowing the author’s favorite genre, I was expecting these stories to stay in that genre. Yet to my surprise, the stories are varied. Some explore horror as the genre, some bring a romantic vibe. Some explore concepts like rebirth, while others just look back at a memory. From human trafficking to child abuse, the author has tried to put a bit of everything into the collection of stories. I wonder if this was what he intended to do. It makes me feel like we experience a lot of emotions in our lifetime, just as the protagonist(s) go through them in these stories. Keeping the same names through the collection made it more interesting. But at the same time, it was confusing after a while to keep track. It didn’t feel like there was continuity.

The most memorable story from the collection was a piece titled “Distance Matters” which was quite touching. I liked that. It felt like a story that really could happen, and how there are those who let it happen too, not in a bad way of course. There is also another story which has a story inside it, and a piece of writing wisdom. I enjoyed that part a lot.

At times, the story was quite terse and ended abruptly. The language could be much better, and the concept of the interlinked stories could have been executed in a different way perhaps. I thought it needs to be in a way that makes the read a lot more fluid and less confusing for most readers. Tighter editing would have helped as well.

The cover is beautiful, and so is the title and the part that makes me nostalgic. In its essence, the book is about simple stories. I like simple stories, so this book was quite enjoyable for me.


A score of 7 out of 10
A score of 7 out of 10
Book Details
Title: Among the Stars
Author(s): Dhasa Sathyan Genre: Short Stories / Fiction
ISBN/ASIN: B013QISZRM Publisher: Notion Press

No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
3rd September 2016)

Leo_new_sign1

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Among the Stars, by Dhasa Sathyan

  1. So the protagonists of all the short stories were the same? Or are only the names of the protagonists same. Not sure I get the format. But I do like the idea of father and son bonding over stories at night.

Leave a Reply

