Book Review: Gone with the Bullet, by Sheeja Jose

I love reading thrillers that keep me at the edge of my seat. When I read the author’s earlier work, I had felt a single line from the blurb make an impact on me as a reader. That line was at the back of my mind through the read. The blurb of this book begins, “An answer to a gun is another gun. Answer to deceit is love.” It set the tone of the book well, and it made me eager to read it. First things first though. The cover art of this novel was brilliant. I loved it more than that of Goodbye Girl.

Unlike the first novel, the blurb of this book does give an indication of what the story holds. Yet like the first novel, the story is not linear. The two protagonists’ lives meet at a time that seems inopportune for the man, who is mistaken by the girl for someone else. From that point, their lives mingle, and the rest of the novel happens.

Just like the first novel, the story takes over and goes on through multiple POV. The plot kept me engaged as a reader. The curiosity to know what happens next in their lives, why their next steps happen as they do… that’s enough to keep the pages turning. I thought I saw a similarity between the plots of the books, but it’s not a big one. Perhaps it’s the undertone at best.

The character sketches are done quite beautifully. They develop over the course of the novel. The man, a lonely shooter, gets aspects to his character I may not have predicted. The girl’s character, similarly, gets a twist. Even the character of the cop, Arjun, was something I liked. Minor characters, like a prostitute who falls in love, or an over-curious old man, add to the story at the right places. Their back story too feels apt.

The main flipside of the novel is the multiple POV itself. While it adds to the story by helping create sub-plots, it also slows down the pace of the narration a little. Maybe that’s why the story ends up longer. There were a few editing mistakes I spotted, but they aren’t prominent enough to affect the reading.

I liked the story, and I liked the quotes at the beginning of the chapters. There was a quote from Agatha Christie that is now part of my favorites. The author handles the gory parts with the right language, not sugar coating it or flinching at using it.

It’s a thriller that is engaging, but not one that you can finish at one sitting. It might take a few days. It’s worth it, though. I feel that the author has taken it up a notch from Goodbye Girl. It makes me wonder what’s next on the cards, and if it can maintain the level this book reaches.


abm_r_8
A score of 8 out of 10
Book Details
Title: Gone With The Bullet
Author(s): Sheeja Jose Genre: Thriller
ISBN/ASIN: 9788193047934 Publisher: Whitehall Publishers

No payment was taken for this review. The views expressed here are mine, and they remain uninfluenced and unbiased.


(© Vinay Leo R. @ A Bookworm’s Musing
10th September 2016)

Leo_new_sign1

Leave a Reply

